To remove an authorized user from a credit card, call the customer service phone number on the back of your card or make the request through your online account. You can also mail your request to the issuer, though it would be much slower. Either the primary cardholder or the authorized user can request removal. ... read full answer
You will need to provide the card number, the primary cardholder’s name, and the authorized user’s name. Some credit card companies require other info such as the primary cardholder’s date of birth, Social Security number, or the answer to a security question.
How to Remove an Authorized User From a Credit Card
- Over the phone: Call the number on the back of your card and provide your card number to identify yourself. When you speak with a representative, tell them you’d like to remove an authorized user.
- Online. Go to the account management page. Find the section for authorized users, select the user you’d like to remove, and confirm removal. Most credit card issuers allow you to remove authorized users online.
- Via mail. Some issuers also allow you to remove an authorized user by mail. Just note that this method is the slowest. Use certified mail if you’d like confirmation of receipt.
Most credit card companies allow either the primary cardholder or the authorized user to request removal. Just note that an authorized user cannot remove another authorized user from a credit card. You should also keep in mind that the specifics of removing an authorized user vary by credit card company.
Ways to Remove an Authorized User with Major Credit Card Companies
It is also worth noting that the primary cardholder can remove an authorized user for any reason. However, there are a few common ones that tend to arise.
Common Reasons for Removing an Authorized User
- Decision to take control of one’s own debt without others making purchases
- Divorce or separation
- The authorized user has built up a decent credit history and can now qualify for a card of their own
- Termination of employment of a worker who is listed as an authorized user on a business credit card account
After you remove an authorized user from a credit card, make sure the user knows. That way, they won’t be surprised when they try to use the card and are unable to purchase anything.
What to Watch Out for After an Authorized User’s Removal
Once you remove an authorized user from your credit card, the card’s past payment history, whether negative or positive, will usually remain on the authorized user's credit report. But no new activity from the card will be added. The authorized user may contact the credit bureaus to ask them to remove the history. It is also worth noting that the authorized user’s credit score could either improve or drop slightly when they are removed from a credit card, depending on the situation.
Most credit card issuers will remove an authorized user immediately after the request is made. In the meantime, some issuers will allow you to freeze the authorized user’s card or set its spending limit to $0 through your account settings.show less