Yes, AAA does offer accident forgiveness through some of its regional clubs, though eligibility requirements and availability vary. For example, the AAA Michigan auto club offers claim forgiveness as a part of its Advantage and Unlimited packages for drivers who have been claim-free for five years. On the other hand, Florida’s AAA club offers accident forgiveness for drivers who’ve had a home and auto bundle for two years.
AAA insurance premiums go up by an average of 59% after an at-fault accident. This just goes to show how much of a money-saver accident forgiveness can be. But even if you don’t qualify for AAA accident forgiveness, there are still other ways to lower your rate after an accident, including raising your deductible and dropping unnecessary coverage.
The best ways to lower your car insurance after an accident are to reduce the amount of coverage that you pay for and compare quotes from multiple insurers. You can also take a defensive driving course and search for additional discounts from your current insurance provider. On average, an at-fault accident … read full answerraises premiums by about 48%, and the increased cost lasts 3-5 years.
How to Lower Car Insurance After an Accident
1. Shop around for quotes from other insurers
Every insurer uses its own methods to calculate insurance premiums, so the rate that you have with your current provider might not be the best deal. In general, it’s a good idea to compare quotes from at least three different insurance companies every 6-12 months.
2. Consider reducing your coverage
You should never drive without insurance, and you should always buy as much coverage as you can afford. But if an accident raises your rates to a point where you simply cannot afford insurance beyond what’s required, you can consider removing certain types of coverage from your policy or lowering your limits. Just make sure that you’re still carrying at least the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required by state law.
3. Go to traffic school
Most major insurers offer a discount if you take an approved defensive driving course. Additionally, if the accident occurred while you were committing a moving violation, you may be able to remove the ticket or points from your record by taking the course.
4. Check for discounts with your insurer
Most major insurers offer a variety of discounts that drivers can get even if they’ve recently been in an accident. Bundling policies, setting up auto-pay, and going paperless are all easy ways to earn a discount on car insurance. If you want to know what other discounts you may qualify for, you should call your insurer directly.
5. Practice safe driving habits
The best way to lower your rate long-term is to avoid getting into any more accidents. Even if you have one at-fault accident on your record, your rate will eventually go back down if you don’t get any other infractions for 3-5 years. And if you drive safely for a long period of time, you may qualify for an additional good driver discount from your insurer.
If a car accident is not your fault, your insurance rate could still go up, depending on your state and insurance company. On average, a not-at-fault accident makes insurance costs go up by about 12%, compared to 45% for an at-fault accident.
Insurance rates can go up after a not-at-fault accident because statistics show that having any accident on your driving record makes you more likely to file a claim in the future. And in some situations, not-at-fault accidents can still cost insurers money. … read full answer
California and Oklahoma are the only two states that prohibit insurance companies from raising rates after not-at-fault accidents. In states where it is allowed, the exact amount that your premium will go up depends on your insurance company. As of 2017, for example, Progressive increased premiums by an average of 16.6% after a not-at-fault accident. Meanwhile, Allstate only increased rates by 4.8%, and drivers with State Farm didn’t see their rates go up at all.
Situations Where Your Insurance Company Has to Pay
In most cases, your insurance company won’t have to pay for a not-at-fault accident since the other driver’s policy will cover your expenses. But if you’re hit by an uninsured motorist or you’re the victim of a hit-and-run, your policy might cover the damages depending on what types of coverage you have. Liability insurance alone wouldn’t cover your expenses, but other types including collision and uninsured/underinsured motorist would. And if you live in a no-fault state, your insurance company will have to pay for your medical expenses regardless of who caused the accident. As a result, any cost to your insurer will be taken into consideration when your insurer is re-evaluating your premium.
Although it’s frustrating to be charged for an accident that wasn’t your fault, the effects on your premium will only be temporary. Accidents usually only stay on your driving record for three years, so if you continue to practice safe driving habits during that time, your rates will eventually go back down.
A car accident stays on your record for insurance for three to five years, depending on the state and insurance company. After that period, an accident no longer appears on a driver’s record for insurance purposes and will not affect car insurance premiums directly.
Just remember that even if the record of the accident goes away after three years, it could take as long as five years before a driver is able to once again qualify for good driver discounts. For example, Geico requires drivers to go five consecutive years without an at-fault accident in order to qualify, while drivers with State Farm can requalify for an accident-free discount after three years.… read full answer
Overall, first-time car accidents increase premiums by an average of 50%, depending on the state and resulting damage. But it’s possible that an accident won’t affect your rates at all.
For example, hit-and-runs committed against you don’t usually affect your insurance costs. And if an accident is a first offense on an otherwise spotless record, your insurance company might offer accident forgiveness, which would prevent your rates from going up. However, not every company offers this perk, and some only offer it as an add-on coverage option.
On the other hand, if you commit a hit and run or cause an accident due to DUI, the accident could stay on your insurance record for up to 10 years or longer. It will also lead to a significant increase in the cost of insurance.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.