Car insurance in Texas costs $64 per month for minimum coverage or $208 per month for full coverage, on average. The cheapest car insurance companies in Texas are State Farm, Texas Farm Bureau, and USAA, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in Texas is 15% higher than the national average auto insurance premium. There are several factors that affect how much you'll pay for car insurance in Texas, including your driving record, age and location, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Texas by Category
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in Texas with minimum coverage and a clean driving record. Actual rates will vary.
How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance in Texas
Shop around and compare quotes. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies to make sure you are getting the best rate.
Choose a higher deductible. Your deductible is the amount you have to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in. Choosing a higher deductible can lower your premiums but means you will have to pay more out-of-pocket when you file a claim.
Consider lowering your coverage. Consider purchasing only the minimum amount of coverage required by your state, rather than purchasing higher limits or a full coverage policy.
Look for discounts you may be eligible for. For instance, most insurance companies offer a good-driver discount for customers with a clean driving record, a good-student discount, or a discount for paying your premiums in full up front.
Drivers in Texas need $30,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person (up to $60,000 per accident) and $25,000 of property damage liability insurance. Collision, comprehensive and gap insurance may also be required by a lender or lessor if your vehicle is financed.
In addition, an optional but recommended type of coverage in Texas is uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. It replaces the liability coverage an at-fault driver should’ve had and pays for your costs up to your policy limits.
Car insurance in Texas is expensive because the state has three of the top 10 largest cities in the country and large, growing populations across the state. In Texas, you can expect to pay around $5,335 per year for full coverage car insurance, compared to the national average of $4,211 per year. Car insurance in Texas is more expensive than the national average, which is around $4,211 per year for full coverage and about $1,407 per year for minimum coverage.
The penalties for driving without insurance in Texas can include fines up to $350, fines and high-risk insurance requirements. Penalties for repeat offenses may be even harsher, including fines up to $1,000.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Texas
Type of Offense
License and/or Registration Suspended?
Maximum Fines & Fees
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage Later)
Dismissed with proof
1st Offense With No Coverage
$175-$350, plus an annual penalty of $250 for three years
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
$350-$1,000 + $250 surcharge annually for three years
Not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but cannot prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an "administrative violation", similar to a seat-belt ticket. In Texas, your citation might be dismissed if you can provide the court with proof of valid insurance for the date of the citation on or before your court date.
Driving without car insurance at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can also expect your car insurance premium to go up.
You can avoid these consequences by meeting Texas' minimum car insurance requirements.
Required Car Insurance in Texas
$30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
$60,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
The key to maintaining the minimum amount of coverage required by Texas is to find a policy you can afford. If your coverage has already lapsed, start by comparing quotes from the insurance companies WalletHub's analysis identified as having the best post-lapse rates.
Best Car Insurance in Texas After a Lapse in Coverage
Drivers in Texas pay an average of $1,689 per year to maintain the minimum amount of coverage. That's nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident.
What Happens If You Get Into a Car Accident Without Insurance in Texas?
1. If you get into an accident: all penalties will apply.
If you get into an accident while driving without insurance in Texas, you will incur the penalties for driving without insurance no matter who is at fault. Driving uninsured can make it difficult to be compensated for damages if you are not at fault and can have long-lasting and life-changing consequences if you are at fault.
2. If the accident is your fault: you'll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket.
In addition to the legal consequences of driving without insurance, you could easily be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars or more in damages to your vehicle, the other driver's car repairs and hospital bills, and your own medical care. You could face mounting debt or even bankruptcy, especially if the other driver doesn't carry uninsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection.
3. Even if you were not at fault or only partially at fault, there will be other consequences.
Driving uninsured doesn't negate the other driver's fault entirely, but you're almost certainly going to be penalized and unable to recover everything you would be entitled to if you had insurance. In at-fault states such as Texas, the driver who caused the accident is usually responsible for damage to your car and any medical treatment you may need. However, Texas uses a modified comparative negligence system, which means you may not be able to recover all the costs associated with the accident if you are found even partially responsible for causing it. This would leave you to cover these costs out of pocket if you were uninsured at the time.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.