Some of the best car insurance companies for California drivers with a DUI are Mercury, Geico, and State Farm. These companies offer rates that are more affordable than average, have high customer satisfaction ratings, and will file an SR-22 if you need it.
Still, post-DUI car insurance won’t be cheap for California drivers. Even the best car insurance in California for drivers with a DUI will cost 75% to 250% more than the average for drivers with a clean record. Premiums increase by an average of about 180% after a DUI conviction in California.
As a result, it’s all the more important to compare quotes in search of a reasonable rate after getting a DUI in California. That’s true across the country, but California state laws don’t allow insurance companies to use factors like age, gender, or credit history to set your premium. That only increases the impact of your driving record.
Car insurance in California costs roughly $3,900 per year ($325 per month), based on a 2019 study by WalletHub. The cheapest car insurance companies in California charge less than $2,500 per year ($208 monthly). Some of the most expensive car insurance in California costs more than $9,000 per year.
These estimates are based on quotes for at least 30 zip codes in California, using a variety of driver profiles from the California insurance regulator’s database. The specific dollar amounts may change a bit based on driving history, age, location of residence, coverage levels and other factors. But the overall hierarchy of California car insurance companies should stay pretty much the same.… read full answer
Companies with the Best California Car Insurance Rates:
California Capital Insurance Company
Aspire General Insurance Company
If you’re looking for new car insurance, these are good companies to start with. But keep in mind that insurance rates are affected by a range of factors. Learn more about them in WalletHub’s 2019 Report on Cheap Car Insurance in California.
Most insurance companies check your driving record for DUIs from the past 3 to 5 years. This is the company’s “look-back period.” In many states, this is also as long as a DUI conviction will remain on your record. In others, like California and New York, a DUI stays on your record for 10 years. Florida keeps your DUI on your driving record for 75 years. During this time period, your DUI will show up on background checks by potential employers, landlords, etc. However, your DUI will affect your insurance rates only for as long as your insurance company’s look-back period.… read full answer
If your insurance company looks back five years, for example, a DUI you were convicted of in 2014 will no longer be considered in setting your rates after 2019. Your insurance rates may decrease the next time you renew your policy.
An SR-22 in California is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in California. So-called SR-22 insurance raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $2,090.00 in California, compared to standard rates. In addition, there’s usually a fee of $15 to $25 for your insurance company to file your SR-22 documentation with the state.… read full answer
Your SR-22 must be maintained with California’s licensing agency for 3 years, according to California law. If your insurance coverage lapses during that time, your insurance company is required to report you to the state. Your SR-22 period resets in that case, and you are required to pay any SR-22-related fees again.
What You Need to Know About SR-22 Insurance in California:
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in California? California requires SR-22 documentation for drivers who are convicted of serious traffic violations. The list includes reckless driving, hit and run, and DUI, among other major offenses.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Raise Premiums in California? An SR-22 in California increases car insurance costs by approximately $2,090.00. That is roughly 115.00% more than the average California resident pays for car insurance. The increase is proportionate to your traffic violation – multiple DUIs will raise rates more than your first speeding ticket.
What is Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in California: Drivers need bodily injury insurance of at least bodily injury insurance of at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, plus $5,000 of coverage for property damage.
How to File SR-22 Documentation in California: Your insurance company will file the SR-22 certificate with the state for you. For the next 3 years, you need to keep your insurance policy active with no lapse in coverage.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.