You can get car insurance discounts in California based on how you drive, the car you own, and your relationship with your insurance company. In California, car insurance companies are allowed to consider factors like marital status, driving experience, and insurance history when setting premiums. That means there are also discounts available for being married or driving safely over time. In California, insurance companies cannot use customer loyalty to determine rates. That means you can't get discounts for staying with the same company for a long time.... read full answer
Almost anyone can get a discount on car insurance in California because most insurance companies make it easy to qualify for a variety of savings. California insurers typically offer discounts that fall into one of three categories—policy discounts, driver discounts, and vehicle discounts.
Policy discounts typically reward customer behavior that is desirable to the insurance company. For example, most California drivers can save by registering for paperless billing or getting both home and auto policies from the same company. Driver discounts are available to California residents who are lower-risk to insure, like those with clean driving records. And vehicle discounts help drivers save if their car has certain safety features or anti-theft systems.
Car Insurance Discounts in California
|Discount ||How It Works ||Potential Savings |
|Customer Loyalty || |
Under current law in California, an insurance company can offer a Customer Loyalty discount to its own customers, but can't offer that same discount to new customers who had continuous coverage for some period of time from a different auto insurance company.
|Up to 10% |
|Good Driver ||California state law requires insurance companies provide at least a 20% discount to all drivers who have been continuously insured for at least three years and who have one point or less on their driving record. ||20% |
|Driver Education ||Insurance companies are required by state law to provide a discount to older drivers who complete an approved defensive driving course. Drivers must be 50 years of age or older to qualify. ||5% to 10% |
|Continuously Insured ||Drivers who have been insured for 6 months or more save on insurance. ||5% to 25% |
|Billing and Payments ||If you pay for your policy in full, set up automatic payments, pay online, or go paperless, you can save. ||2% to 25% |
|Policy Bundling ||Insure multiple vehicles or get different policy types (like home and auto) from the same company can earn a discount. ||10% to 25% |
|Good Student ||Young drivers with a “B” average or higher are eligible for discounts. ||8% to 25% |
|Usage-Based ||Some insurance companies offer discounts for drivers who are willing to have their driving habits monitored by an electronic device attached to your car and/or your smartphone. ||1% to 30% |
|Safety Features ||Cars featuring multiple airbags, anti-lock brakes, daytime running lights, and other safety add-ons can save on car insurance. ||2% to 30% |
|Anti-Theft Systems ||Car alarms, LoJack, steering wheel locks, or other anti-theft features can make comprehensive coverage more affordable. ||5% to 25% |
Remember, discounts vary among different insurance companies, so it’s always best to contact the provider directly to determine which discounts you qualify for.show less