The best car insurance companies in California for seniors are Geico, CSAA, and USAA. The best car insurance for seniors in California is affordable, yet provides enough coverage to keep up with the changing needs of older drivers. Seniors get into more car accidents than middle-aged drivers, for example. About 10% of fatal crashes in California involve a driver who is at least 65 years old. This is why older drivers may see their rates go up for the first time in decades.
The best car insurance companies in California provide a hassle-free claims process and top-notch customer service. They also have discounts for seniors who take a defensive driving course and low-mileage or usage-based coverage for retirees who are no longer commuting to work every day.
No, California is not a no-fault state for auto insurance. California is one of the 38 states in the country where the person who causes a car accident has to pay for the damage and injuries.
How Car Insurance Works in California
When an accident occurs, the police determine who’s at fault. Then, to collect payment for their losses, victims must file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. Liability insurance is the type of insurance that pays victims’ claims, and all drivers in California are required to carry it.… read full answer
Although you’re not required to carry any other kind of car insurance in California, you may want to protect yourself in case of an accident, too. For example, if you are at fault in a crash, your car can be covered by collision insurance. Medical payments coverage can pay your medical bills.
What No-Fault State Means for Car Insurance
In a no-fault state, each driver in an accident is responsible for covering their own losses through their insurance company. No one needs to prove who caused the accident to be covered. These states have different types of mandatory insurance, such as personal injury protection, which covers medical bills, costs related to medical care like transportation expenses, and lost wages.
Because of the required personal injury protection, or PIP, drivers in most no-fault states – like Florida, Michigan, New Jersey and New York – pay more for their insurance than California residents. Being a “fault” state helps keep California around the middle of the state rankings for insurance costs.
Car insurance in California costs roughly $3,900 per year ($325 per month), based on a 2019 study by WalletHub. The cheapest car insurance companies in California charge less than $2,500 per year ($208 monthly). Some of the most expensive car insurance in California costs more than $9,000 per year.
These estimates are based on quotes for at least 30 zip codes in California, using a variety of driver profiles from the California insurance regulator’s database. The specific dollar amounts may change a bit based on driving history, age, location of residence, coverage levels and other factors. But the overall hierarchy of California car insurance companies should stay pretty much the same.… read full answer
Companies with the Best California Car Insurance Rates:
If you’re looking for new car insurance, these are good companies to start with. But keep in mind that insurance rates are affected by a range of factors. Learn more about them in WalletHub’s 2019 Report on Cheap Car Insurance in California.
The car insurance coverage required by California law is a minimum of $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, a minimum of $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and a minimum of $5,000 for property damage liability.
Bodily injury liability coverage helps pay for another person’s injuries in a car accident when you are at fault. Property damage liability coverage helps pay for the other person’s car. Your insurance company pays up to the limit specified in your policy for each of these categories.… read full answer
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements Under California Law
Bodily injury liability per person: $15,000
Bodily injury liability per accident: $30,000
Property damage liability: $5,000
Drivers in California face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without at least the minimum auto insurance required by state law. Possible outcomes include fines and your car being impounded. Another important California law to note is the grace period for new residents: When you move to California, you have 20 days to register your car. You’ll need to show proof that you’ve obtained California car insurance, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
Why You Should Get More Than the Minimum Insurance Requirements in California
Just because you can drive legally with the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required by California law does not mean such coverage will provide adequate protection for you personally. Policies can go beyond California’s minimum coverage requirements in two ways: higher limits and more robust coverage.
Higher coverage limits mean that the insurance carrier will pay more for another person’s injury or property damage in the event of an accident. More robust coverage could include provisions that cover your own injuries, your vehicle, uninsured motorists and more.
If you can afford it, strongly consider paying for more robust coverage than the minimums required by California’s car insurance laws. People who do not have adequate medical and disability insurance, live in a densely populated area, drive often, or may be concerned about car theft or damage should be especially motivated to go above and beyond.
If you might otherwise drive without insurance, getting the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required in California is better than nothing.
When deciding whether to purchase more than California’s minimum coverage, it is a good idea to compare quotes from several insurance companies before selecting the policy that’s best for you.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.