The best car insurance for new drivers in New Hampshire is from Geico and State Farm. These companies offer competitive rates for new drivers, received high ratings from WalletHub’s editors, and are in a good financial position to pay out claims.
Car insurance for new drivers in New Hampshire costs an average of $60 to $189 per month. The exact cost varies based on the driver’s age and whether they are purchasing their own policy or being added to an existing one. The table below lists premiums for new drivers purchasing their own policy. Once you get a few years of experience and have a record of safe driving, your rates will begin to go down.
Popular Car Insurance Companies for New Drivers in New Hampshire
Note: Premiums are representative of a 16-year-old good driver with a minimum coverage policy; individual premiums will vary.
New drivers typically have less than 3-5 years of recent driving experience, and they often pay more for insurance than experienced drivers, so shopping around for coverage is important. You should also read company reviews when purchasing a policy.
New Hampshire is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for everyone injured in the accident. There are no restrictions on the right to sue after an accident in at-fault states, even if the insured buys personal injury protection (PIP). In New Hampshire, you don't need car insurance if you prove you meet liability requirements by depositing money with the state treasury.… read full answer
Drivers in New Hampshire are required to carry at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, up to $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver’s expenses.
On average, state minimum coverage costs $1,104 per year in New Hampshire, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by New Hampshire law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In New Hampshire, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $3,247 per year in New Hampshire. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but New Hampshire drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in New Hampshire balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Amica Mutual and The Hanover online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
You can get car insurance discounts in New Hampshire based on how you drive, the car you own, and your relationship with your insurance company. In New Hampshire, car insurance companies are allowed to consider factors like employment, residential, and marital status when setting premiums. That means there are also discounts available for being married, owning a home, or being affiliated with certain employers or educational institutions.… read full answer
Almost anyone can get a discount on car insurance in New Hampshire because most insurance companies make it easy to qualify for a variety of savings. New Hampshire insurers typically offer discounts that fall into one of three categories—policy discounts, driver discounts, and vehicle discounts.
Policy discounts typically reward customer behavior that is desirable to the insurance company. For example, most New Hampshire drivers can save by registering for paperless billing or getting both home and auto policies from the same company. Driver discounts are available to New Hampshire residents who are lower-risk to insure, like those with clean driving records. And vehicle discounts help drivers save if their car has certain safety features or anti-theft systems.
Car Insurance Discounts in New Hampshire
How It Works
Insurance companies reward long-term customers with lower rates.
Up to 10%
Drivers with a clean record and no claims history save on insurance.
10% to 30%
Older drivers who refresh their skills with an approved defensive driving course get reduced rates.
5% to 10%
Drivers who have been insured for 6 months or more save on insurance.
5% to 25%
Billing and Payments
If you pay for your policy in full, set up automatic payments, pay online, or go paperless, you can save.
2% to 25%
Insure multiple vehicles or get different policy types (like home and auto) from the same company can earn a discount.
1% to 12%
Young drivers with a “B” average or higher are eligible for discounts.
5% to 20%
Some insurance companies offer discounts for drivers who are willing to have their driving habits monitored by an electronic device attached to your car and/or your smartphone.
1% to 30%
Cars featuring multiple airbags, anti-lock brakes, daytime running lights, and other safety add-ons can save on car insurance.
2% to 30%
Car alarms, LoJack, steering wheel locks, or other anti-theft features can make comprehensive coverage more affordable.
5% to 25%
Remember, discounts vary among different insurance companies, so it’s always best to contact the provider directly to determine which discounts you qualify for.
You can get car insurance in New Hampshire by comparing quotes from both national and local insurance companies to find the best deal, then purchasing coverage online, by phone or in person. In New Hampshire, liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and MedPay are required for all drivers.
You’ll need to have information about yourself and any other drivers you want on your policy, including driver names, addresses, and driver’s license numbers. You will also need details about the vehicles you’d like to insure, such as vehicle makes and models, VINs, and mileage.
2. Decide how you want to purchase insurance
Most insurance companies allow you to purchase car insurance online. You can also purchase it over the phone or in person through a company’s dedicated agent or through an independent insurance broker. Purchasing through an agent or broker instead of online may be better for people who are less tech-savvy and want to have a person walk them through the available options.
3. Look into the required types of insurance in New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, drivers must have at least a minimum amount of bodily injury liability, property damage liability, uninsured motorist coverage and MedPay.
Type of Coverage
Bodily injury liability
$25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident)
Property damage liability
Uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 bodily injury per person ($50,000 per accident)
4. Consider additional types of coverage
You should look into optional types of coverage, like collision and comprehensive. While they aren’t required by state law, lenders and lessors will often require financed vehicles to carry collision and comprehensive insurance, and these types of coverage can help protect your finances.
5. Compare quotes
Comparing prices from several different companies is the best way to make sure you’re getting the best deal.
Always make sure you’re taking advantage of every discount available.
7. Pay for your policy
You’ll need to figure out whether you’d rather pay monthly or pay in full up front. Most companies offer a slight discount for paying up front. When choosing a specific policy, you’ll also need to pick deductibles for certain types of coverage, like comprehensive and collision.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.