You need $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per person ($100,000 per accident). Bodily injury liability insurance pays for other people’s injuries after a car accident that you cause, and it can also cover your legal fees if you are sued after a crash.
In addition to bodily injury liability insurance, drivers in Maine need to purchase $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. Property damage liability coverage pays for damage to others’ property after an accident caused by the policyholder. Together, these liability insurance requirements are often written as 50/100/25.
Maine also requires drivers to buy $2,000 in MedPay, plus $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. For more information, check out WalletHub’s breakdown of how much car insurance you need in Maine.
Maine is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for everyone injured in the accident. There are no restrictions on the right to sue after an accident in at-fault states, even if the insured buys personal injury protection (PIP). Maine also requires uninsured motorist protection, which replaces the liability coverage another driver should have had and pays for your costs up to the policy limits. Plus, you need MedPay to cover medical expenses for you and your passengers in Maine.… read full answer
Drivers in Maine are required to carry at least $50,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, up to $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver’s expenses.
On average, state minimum coverage costs $896 per year in Maine, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by Maine law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In Maine, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $2,536 per year in Maine. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but Maine drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in Maine balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Amica Mutual and The Hanover online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
Car insurance in Maine costs $36 per month or $427 per year for minimum coverage, on average. The cheapest car insurance companies in Maine are USAA, Patriot, and Geico, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in Maine is 36% lower than the … read full answernational average auto insurance premium. There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in Maine, including your driving record, age and location, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Maine by Category
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in Maine with minimum coverage and a clean driving record. Actual rates will vary.
How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance in Maine
Shop around and compare quotes. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies to make sure you are getting the best rate.
Choose a higher deductible. Your deductible is the amount you have to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in. Choosing a higher deductible can lower your premiums but means you will have to pay more out-of-pocket when you file a claim.
Consider lowering your coverage. Consider purchasing only the minimum amount of coverage required by your state, rather than purchasing higher limits or a full coverage policy.
Look for discounts you may be eligible for. For instance, most insurance companies offer a good-driver discount for customers with a clean driving record, a good-student discount, or a discount for paying your premiums in full up front.
Yes, uninsured motorist coverage is required in Maine. Drivers in Maine are required to carry $50,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage per person (up to $100,000 per accident), as well as $50,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $100,000 per accident). Maine does not require drivers to have … read full answeruninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) insurance, however.
Uninsured motorist insurance covers the policyholder’s expenses after an accident if the other driver doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for the damage. UMBI pays for the policyholder’s medial bills, while UMPD pays to repair or replace their vehicle. Instead of UMPD, drivers in Maine can use collision insurance, which covers repairs after any car accident.
How Uninsured Motorist Coverage Works in Maine
Normally, a Maine driver can collect damages from the at-fault driver’s liability insurance after an accident. However, if the other driver is uninsured, getting compensation can be time-consuming or nearly impossible. That’s where uninsured motorist coverage can help. Instead of having to file a lawsuit, you can file a claim with your own insurance company in order to pay your bills and get the repairs or treatment you need without waiting for the courts.
Even though car insurance is required in Maine, an average of 5% of drivers in the state don’t have car insurance. Car accidents in Maine can be extremely expensive, too. For example, fatal accidents in Maine have a total cost of $198 million each year. As a result, uninsured motorist insurance is a smart investment for Maine drivers.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Maine:
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $50,000 per person and up to $100,000 per accident
Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $50,000 per person and up to $100,000 per accident
Uninsured Drivers on the Road: 5%
Total Annual Cost of Fatal Accidents: $198 million
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.