In Rhode Island, you need $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person ($50,000 per accident). Bodily injury liability insurance pays for other people’s injuries after a car accident that you cause, and it can also cover your legal fees if you are sued after a crash.
In addition to bodily injury liability insurance, drivers in Rhode Island need to purchase $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. Property damage liability coverage pays for damage to others’ property after an accident caused by the policyholder.
Together, these Rhode Island liability insurance requirements are often written as 25/50/25. Even though Rhode Island only requires 25/50/25 in liability insurance, it’s a good idea to purchase more coverage if you can afford it. Buying higher coverage limits can protect you financially if you cause a serious accident.
Rhode Island is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for everyone injured in the accident. There are no restrictions on the right to sue after an accident in at-fault states, even if the insured buys personal injury protection (PIP).
On average, state minimum coverage costs $2,193 per year in Rhode Island, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by Rhode Island law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In Rhode Island, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $6,111 per year in Rhode Island. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but Rhode Island drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in Rhode Island balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like State Farm, Geico, Allstate, Amica Mutual and The Hanover online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
Car insurance in Rhode Island costs $79 per month or $946 per year for minimum coverage, on average. The cheapest car insurance companies in Rhode Island are State Farm, USAA, and Travelers, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in Rhode Island is 41% higher than the … read full answernational average auto insurance premium. There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in Rhode Island, including your driving record, age and location, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Rhode Island by Category
After an at-fault accident:$265 per month
Driver with poor credit: $149 per month
Teen driver:$506 per month
After a DUI: $187 per month
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Rhode Island by Company
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in Rhode Island with minimum coverage and a clean driving record. Actual rates will vary.
How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Shop around and compare quotes. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies to make sure you are getting the best rate.
Choose a higher deductible. Your deductible is the amount you have to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in. Choosing a higher deductible can lower your premiums but means you will have to pay more out-of-pocket when you file a claim.
Consider lowering your coverage. Consider purchasing only the minimum amount of coverage required by your state, rather than purchasing higher limits or a full coverage policy.
Look for discounts you may be eligible for. For instance, most insurance companies offer a good-driver discount for customers with a clean driving record, a good-student discount, or a discount for paying your premiums in full up front.
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Rhode Island, as drivers can reject the coverage in writing. Still, insurance companies are required to offer at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), as well as $25,000 in uninsured motorist property damage insurance per accident.… read full answer
For Rhode Island drivers who do not opt out by rejecting the coverage in writing, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident in which the other driver doesn’t have car insurance, or doesn’t have enough coverage for the damage they caused.
Why You Should Get Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Rhode Island
Normally, an at-fault driver’s insurance helps pay for any damage after an accident. However, if the other driver doesn’t have any – or enough – coverage, it can be time-consuming and difficult to sue them for funds to cover any medical or repair bills. That’s where this optional insurance coverage can help you save time and money.
Even though Rhode Island does not require uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, you should still consider buying it. In Rhode Island, an average of 15% of drivers on the road don’t have car insurance. Car accidents in Rhode Island can be very expensive, too.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Rhode Island:
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.