In Virginia, you need $30,000 in bodily injury coverage per person ($60,000 per accident) if you purchase car insurance. Bodily injury liability coverage pays for other people’s injuries after a car accident that you cause, and it can also cover your legal fees if you are sued after a crash. However, car insurance is not required in Virginia if you pay the $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee.
Even though Virginia doesn’t always require car insurance, it’s always a good idea to purchase it anyway. Car insurance is an important way to protect yourself financially, since it can keep you from paying out of pocket for expenses resulting from injuries and property damage that you cause.
Virginia is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for everyone injured in the accident. There are no restrictions on the right to sue after an accident in at-fault states, even if the insured buys personal injury protection (PIP). In Virginia, you are also required to carry uninsured motorist protection, which replaces the liability coverage another driver should have had and pays for your costs up to policy limits. Virginia state law allows drivers to opt out of state minimum car insurance if they pay a $500 fee with the state every time they renew vehicle registration. This fee avoids the penalties of driving without insurance, but drivers are still financially responsible if they cause an accident.… read full answer
Drivers in Virginia are required to carry at least $30,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, up to $60,000 per accident, and $20,000 in property damage liability insurance. When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver’s expenses.
On average, state minimum coverage costs $381 per year in Virginia, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by Virginia law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In Virginia, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $1,009 per year in Virginia. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but Virginia drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in Virginia balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like Geico, State Farm, Erie Insurance and The Hartford online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
Car insurance in Virginia costs $78 per month, on average, or $931 per year. The average cost of car insurance in Virginia is 30% higher than the national average auto insurance premium, and Virginia ranks 40 out of 50 for the most affordable car insurance rates in the U.S.
There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in Virginia, including your driving record, age, location, the amount of coverage that you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from. On average, the cheapest insurance companies in Virginia are ALFA, Progressive, and USAA. But every insurer has their own way of calculating premiums, so it’s a good idea to get quotes from at least three different companies to make sure you find the best deal.
Finally, it’s worth noting that car insurance premiums in Virginia are average, compared to the cost of coverage in neighboring states like Maryland and West Virginia. You can find more details in the table below.
Cost of Car Insurance in Virginia vs. Neighboring States
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Virginia, since drivers are allowed to opt out of car insurance if they pay a $500 fee. If a driver chooses to get insurance, they must get $30,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $60,000 per accident), as well as $20,000 in … read full answeruninsured motorist property damage insurance per accident. Similar amounts of underinsured motorist coverage are also required if you choose to get auto insurance in Virginia.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Virginia
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person (up to $60,000 per accident)
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person (up to $60,000 per accident)
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
Uninsured Drivers on the Road: 10%
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident if the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough insurance. Normally, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance pays for any property damage or injuries they caused. But if the other driver doesn’t have enough coverage, it can be time-consuming and difficult to sue them for funds to cover any bills. That’s where uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance can help save drivers time and money.
Because Virginia allows drivers to go uninsured, it’s estimated that 10% of drivers in the state don’t have car insurance. This gives you a 1 in 10 chance that the other driver won’t have insurance if you get into an accident. Car accidents in Virginia can be extremely expensive, too. For example, fatal accidents in Virginia cost a total of $1.31 billion in 2018, the latest year with CDC data.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.