McKayla Girardin, Car Insurance Writer
No, you cannot go to jail for driving without insurance in Virginia, but you can face other serious consequences, such as license and registration suspension. Car insurance isn’t required in Virginia, but drivers must pay a $500 uninsured motorist fee every time they register their car if they don’t have car insurance.
Driving without insurance or without paying the uninsured motorist fee is illegal in Virginia and can have a serious impact on your car insurance rates moving forward. It is not a jailable offense, though.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Virginia
- License and registration suspension after first and subsequent offenses.
- Fine of at least $500 for each offense.
- SR-22 requirement for three years after the first and subsequent offenses.
If you are in an accident while driving uninsured in Virginia, you will still face the consequences of driving without insurance even if you’re not at fault. Additionally, if you cause the accident, you’ll be liable for property damage and medical expenses for anyone else who was involved. The only way to avoid this is by being insured.
You can check out WalletHub’s picks for the cheapest car insurance companies in Virginia to start shopping for a policy.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?