McKayla Girardin, Car Insurance Writer
No, you cannot go to jail for driving without insurance in Arizona, but you can face other serious consequences, such as suspension of license and fines up to $1,000. Driving without insurance in Arizona is illegal and can have a serious impact on your car insurance rates moving forward.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona
- Fine of up to $500 for the first offense, at least $750 for the second offense, and at least $1,000 for subsequent offenses
- Suspension of license up to 3 months for the first offense, up to 6 months for the second offense, and for up to 1 year for subsequent offenses
- Suspension of registration up to 3 months for the first offense, up to 6 months for the second offense, and for up to 1 year for subsequent offenses
- SR-22 requirement for 3-5 years for the first and subsequent offenses
If you are in an accident while driving uninsured in Arizona, you will still face the consequences of driving without insurance even if you’re not at fault. Additionally, if you cause the accident, you’ll be liable for property damage and medical expenses for anyone else who was involved. The only way to avoid this is by being insured.
Check out WalletHub’s picks for the cheapest car insurance companies in Arizona to start shopping for a policy.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?