No, you cannot go to jail for driving without insurance in Tennessee, but you can face other serious consequences, such as suspension of license and registration. Driving without insurance in Tennessee is illegal and can have a serious impact on your car insurance rates moving forward.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Tennessee
Suspension of license until proof of insurance is provided and driver's license exam is re-taken after the first and subsequent offenses
Suspension of registration until proof of insurance is provided for the first and subsequent offenses
Fine up to $300 for the first and subsequent offenses
SR-22 requirement for 3 years for the first and subsequent offenses
If you are in an accident while driving uninsured in Tennessee, you will still face the consequences of driving without insurance even if you’re not at fault. Additionally, if you cause the accident, you’ll be liable for property damage and medical expenses for anyone else who was involved. The only way to avoid this is by being insured.
Tennessee car insurance laws require $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, up to $50,000 per accident, as well as $15,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Bodily injury liability insurance pays for any injuries that you accidentally cause with your car, while property damage liability coverage helps pay for any material assets that you damage while driving, like another person’s car or mailbox. Your insurance company pays up to the limit specified by your policy for each type of car insurance coverage.… read full answer
You can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without at least the minimum car insurance required in Tennessee, including $300 in fines, license suspension and impounding of your car. Another important Tennessee car insurance law to note is the grace period for new residents. You have 30 days to register your car when you move to Tennessee. You’ll need to bring proof of Tennessee car insurance when you go to register, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
Minimum Coverage Required by Tennessee Car Insurance Laws
Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
Car insurance in Tennessee costs $39 per month or $467 per year for minimum coverage, on average. The cheapest car insurance companies in Tennessee are Auto-Owners, USAA, and State Farm, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in Tennessee is 30% lower than the … read full answernational average auto insurance premium. There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in Tennessee, including your driving record, age and location, the amount of coverage you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Tennessee by Category
After an at-fault accident:$180 per month
Driver with poor credit: $66 per month
Teen driver:$205 per month
After a DUI: $89 per month
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Tennessee by Company
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in Tennessee with minimum coverage and a clean driving record. Actual rates will vary.
How to Lower the Cost of Car Insurance in Tennessee
Shop around and compare quotes. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies to make sure you are getting the best rate.
Choose a higher deductible. Your deductible is the amount you have to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in. Choosing a higher deductible can lower your premiums but means you will have to pay more out-of-pocket when you file a claim.
Consider lowering your coverage. Consider purchasing only the minimum amount of coverage required by your state, rather than purchasing higher limits or a full coverage policy.
Look for discounts you may be eligible for. For instance, most insurance companies offer a good-driver discount for customers with a clean driving record, a good-student discount, or a discount for paying your premiums in full up front.
You can get car insurance in Tennessee by comparing quotes from both national and local insurance companies to find the best deal, then purchasing coverage online, by phone or in person. In Tennessee, only liability car insurance is required for all drivers.
You’ll need to have information about yourself and any other drivers you want on your policy, including driver names, addresses, and driver’s license numbers. You will also need details about the vehicles you’d like to insure, such as vehicle makes and models, VINs, and mileage.
2. Decide how you want to purchase insurance
Most insurance companies allow you to purchase car insurance online. You can also purchase it over the phone or in person through a company’s dedicated agent or through an independent insurance broker. Purchasing through an agent or broker instead of online may be better for people who are less tech-savvy and want to have a person walk them through the available options.
3. Look into the required types of insurance in Tennessee
In Tennessee, drivers must have at least a minimum amount of bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance.
Type of Coverage
Bodily injury liability
$25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident)
Property damage liability
4. Consider additional types of coverage
You should look into optional types of coverage, like collision and comprehensive. While they aren’t required by state law, lenders and lessors will often require financed vehicles to carry collision and comprehensive insurance, and these types of coverage can help protect your finances.
5. Compare quotes
Comparing prices from several different companies is the best way to make sure you’re getting the best deal.
Always make sure you’re taking advantage of every discount available.
7. Pay for your policy
You’ll need to figure out whether you’d rather pay monthly or pay in full up front. Most companies offer a slight discount for paying up front. When choosing a specific policy, you’ll also need to pick deductibles for certain types of coverage, like comprehensive and collision.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.