No, you cannot go to jail for driving without insurance in Utah, but you can face other serious consequences, such as suspension of license and registration. Driving without insurance in Utah is illegal and can have a serious impact on your car insurance rates moving forward.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Utah
Suspension of license until proof of insurance is provided for the first and subsequent offenses
Suspension of registration until proof of insurance is provided for the first and subsequent offenses
Fine up to $400 for the first offense and up to $1,000 for subsequent offenses
SR-22 requirement for 3 years for the first and subsequent offenses
If you are in an accident while driving uninsured in Utah, you will still face the consequences of driving without insurance even if you’re not at fault. Additionally, if you cause the accident, you’ll be liable for property damage and medical expenses for anyone else who was involved. The only way to avoid this is by being insured.
Utah car insurance laws require bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person (up to $65,000 per accident), $15,000 of property damage liability coverage, and $3,000 of personal injury protection coverage.
The first two categories - bodily injury liability and property damage liability - cover injuries or damage that you accidentally cause with your car. Your car insurance pays up to a specified limit for each category. If you want additional coverage, you can choose higher limits than the ones required by Utah law.… read full answer
Utah has no-fault insurance insurance. Most states that require personal injury protection coverage are no-fault states. No-fault laws mean that, at least initially, each driver is responsible for their own medical bills – regardless of who caused the accident. That’s when personal injury protection can come in handy for an injured driver.
Since insurance is required by Utah law, you can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without it, including up to $1,000 in fines and jail time. Another important Utah car insurance law to note is the grace period for new residents: You have 60 days to register your car when you move to Utah. You’ll need to bring proof of Utah car insurance when you go to register, with at least the following coverage types and amounts.
Minimum Coverage Required by Utah Car Insurance Laws
Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident
Car insurance in Utah is $64 per month for minimum coverage and $176 per month for full coverage, on average. The cheapest insurance companies in Utah are Geico, National General and Auto-Owners, and getting quotes from several companies can help you find the best deal.
The average cost of car insurance in Utah is 6% higher than the national average auto insurance premium, and Utah ranks 35 out of 50 for the most affordable car insurance rates in the U.S.. There are several factors that affect how much you’ll pay for car insurance in Utah, including your driving record, age, location, the amount of coverage that you purchase, and the insurance company you buy it from.
Finally, it’s worth noting that car insurance premiums in Utah are high, compared to the cost of coverage in neighboring states like Idaho and Colorado. You can find more details in the table below.
Cost of Car Insurance in Utah vs. Neighboring States
You can get car insurance in Utah by comparing quotes from both national and local insurance companies to find the best deal, then purchasing coverage online, by phone or in person. In Utah, liability insurance and personal injury protection are required for all drivers.
You’ll need to have information about yourself and any other drivers you want on your policy, including driver names, addresses, and driver’s license numbers. You will also need details about the vehicles you’d like to insure, such as vehicle makes and models, VINs, and mileage.
2. Decide how you want to purchase insurance
Most insurance companies allow you to purchase car insurance online. You can also purchase it over the phone or in person through a company’s dedicated agent or through an independent insurance broker. Purchasing through an agent or broker instead of online may be better for people who are less tech-savvy and want to have a person walk them through the available options.
3. Look into the required types of insurance in Utah
In Utah, drivers must have at least a minimum amount of bodily injury liability, property damage liability and personal injury protection.
Type of Coverage
Bodily injury liability
$25,000 per person ($65,000 per accident)
Property damage liability
Personal injury protection
4. Consider additional types of coverage
You should look into optional types of coverage, like collision and comprehensive. While they aren’t required by state law, lenders and lessors will often require financed vehicles to carry collision and comprehensive insurance, and these types of coverage can help protect your finances.
5. Compare quotes
Comparing prices from several different companies is the best way to make sure you’re getting the best deal.
Always make sure you’re taking advantage of every discount available.
7. Pay for your policy
You’ll need to figure out whether you’d rather pay monthly or pay in full up front. Most companies offer a slight discount for paying up front. When choosing a specific policy, you’ll also need to pick deductibles for certain types of coverage, like comprehensive and collision.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.