Connecticut car insurance laws require bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 of property damage liability coverage. Connecticut also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage totaling $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury.
Minimum Coverage Required by Connecticut Car Insurance Laws
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury
The first two categories – bodily injury liability and property damage liability - cover injuries or damages that you accidentally cause with your car. Your car insurance pays up to the per-person or per-accident limit in each category. Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance provide additional coverage for you, in the event that you get into an accident with a driver who has limited or no insurance of their own.
Car insurance is required in Connecticut, but some drivers break that law or simply don’t have enough insurance to cover all accident-related expenses. Having uninsured and underinsured coverage on your own policy means you can repair your car or go to the hospital without worrying about where you’ll get the money to pay your bills. If you want additional coverage, you can choose higher limits than the ones required by Connecticut law.
Since insurance is required by Connecticut law, you can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without it, including fines and the suspension of your license and registration. Another important Connecticut law to note is the grace period for new residents: You have 30 days to register your car when you move to Connecticut. You’ll need to bring proof of Connecticut car insurance when you go to register, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines
. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.