WalletHub, Financial Company
Minnesota car insurance laws require bodily injury liability coverage of $30,000 per person ($60,000 per accident) and $10,000 of liability coverage for property damage. The state also requires $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, and $40,000 of personal injury protection coverage.
The first two categories - bodily injury liability and property damage liability - cover injuries or damages that you accidentally cause with your car. Your car insurance pays up to the per-person or per-accident limit in each category. If you want additional coverage, you can choose higher limits than the ones required by Minnesota law.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is protection for you, in the event that another driver hits your car but doesn’t have insurance. Car insurance is required in Minnesota, but some drivers break the law and drive uninsured. An uninsured driver is still financially responsible for any damage they caused – but getting that money could be very difficult or time-consuming. uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance means you can repair your car or go to the hospital without worrying about where you’ll get the money to pay your bills.
Minnesota has no-fault car insurance laws. Most states that require medical payment coverage are no-fault states. No-fault laws mean that, at least initially, each driver is responsible for their own medical bills – regardless of who caused the accident. That’s when personal injury protection can come in handy for a driver if they’re injured.
Since insurance is required by Minnesota law, you can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without it, including fines, suspension of registration, or imprisonment. Another important Minnesota law to note is the grace period for new residents: When you move to Minnesota, you have 60 days to register your car. You’ll need to bring proof of Minnesota car insurance when you go to register, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
Minimum Coverage Required by Minnesota Car Insurance Laws
- Bodily injury liability: $30,000 per person / $60,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $10,000
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury
- Personal injury protection: $40,000
People also ask
Did we answer your question?