WalletHub, Financial Company
South Carolina car insurance laws require bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 of property damage liability coverage. South Carolina also requires uninsured motorist coverage totaling $25,000 per person of bodily injury ($50,000 per accident) of bodily injury and $25,000 of property damage.
The first two categories – bodily injury liability and property damage liability - cover injuries or damages that you accidentally cause with your car. Your car insurance pays up to the per-person or per-accident limit in each category. Uninsured motorist insurance provide additional coverage for you, in the event that you get into an accident with a driver who has limited or no insurance of their own.
Car insurance is required in South Carolina, but some drivers break that law or simply don’t have enough insurance to cover all accident-related expenses. Having uninsured coverage on your own policy means you can repair your car or go to the hospital without worrying about where you’ll get the money to pay your bills. If you want additional coverage, you can choose higher limits than the ones required by South Carolina law.
Since insurance is required by South Carolina law, you can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without it, including fines and cancellation of your registration. Another important South Carolina law to note is the grace period for new residents: You have 45 days to register your car when you move to South Carolina. You’ll need to bring proof of South Carolina car insurance when you go to register, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
Minimum Coverage Required by South Carolina Car Insurance Laws
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000
- Uninsured motorist insurance: $25,000 per person of bodily injury ($50,000 per accident) of bodily injury and $25,000 of property damage
People also ask
Did we answer your question?