No, you do not need rental car insurance in Kansas. As is the case in most states, rental car companies in Kansas provide the minimum state-required liability insurance coverage as a part of their basic contract. Specifically, they provide $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident) and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident. Kansas generally requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance and personal injury protection (PIP), too, but you can legally drive a rental car without this additional coverage.
If you have an existing personal car insurance policy that includes other types of coverage, like collision or comprehensive, or liability limits that are higher than what your state requires, the extra protection will extend to your rental car. But if you don’t have auto insurance coverage of your own, it may be a good idea to purchase additional coverage from the rental company if you’re concerned about having enough protection in an accident.
For example, you can purchase a collision damage waiver, which provides coverage comparable to collision and comprehensive insurance. This type of coverage may even apply automatically if you pay for your rental with the right credit card. You can also purchase supplemental coverage that adds to the existing liability and medical payments limits from your personal policy.
The cost of Enterprise rental car insurance ranges from about $5 per day to nearly $20 per day, depending on the coverage. The Enterprise rental car insurance options are personal accident insurance, personal effects coverage, and supplemental liability protection, and each costs extra to add to a rental agreement.
Personal Accident Insurance / Personal Effects Coverage
Enterprise personal accident insurance (PAI) covers medical expenses and provides an accidental death benefit to the renter and the renter’s passengers. The personal effects coverage (PEC) insures the personal belongings of the renter and qualified passengers.
The cost of PAI/PEC varies by rental location, but you can expect to pay between $5.13 and $13 per day.
Supplemental Liability Protection
The supplemental liability protection (SLP) option from Enterprise gives the renter, and other authorized drivers, up to $1 million in coverage for third-party liability claims.
You can expect to pay between $11.19 and $18 per day for SLP, depending on the location.
Collision/Liability Damage Waivers (CDW/LDW)
Damage waivers aren’t technically insurance, but they are contracts stating that Enterprise won’t hold you responsible for damage to or theft of the rental vehicle. These waivers typically cost $21.99/day, depending on the vehicle and the zip code for the Enterprise office where the car will be picked up/returned.
Enterprise also offers roadside assistance protection (RAP), though it’s not an insurance policy, either. Roadside assistance protection keeps customers from having to pay for otherwise chargeable roadside setbacks, such as being locked out or running out of gas. Roadside assistance protection from Enterprise costs $3.99/day.
When to Buy Enterprise Rental Car Insurance
Deciding whether or not to add one of Enterprise’s rental car insurance options will depend on what kind of coverage you already have, if any, and what you’re willing to risk. Rental car companies insure the cars they lend out to customers, though it’s typically only the minimum liability coverage required by the state.
You should check to see what kind of coverage from your personal auto insurance policy or the credit card you use to rent the vehicle will extend to your rental before opting for an Enterprise rental car insurance policy. This will ensure you don’t pay for the same coverage twice.
The penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas include fines, suspension of license and registration, and imprisonment. You can avoid these consequences by meeting Kansas’s proof of financial responsibility requirements. Kansas requires that all drivers have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage, as well as personal injury protection.… read full answer
Purchasing Kansas’s minimum liability car insurance coverage is the easiest way to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement. Drivers in Kansas pay an average of $575 per year to maintain the minimum amount of coverage. That’s nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Kansas
Type of Offense
License and/or Registration Suspended?
Maximum Fines & Fees
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)
dismissed with proof
1st Offense With No Coverage
Yes, up to 6 months
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
Not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but cannot prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an “administrative violation,” similar to a seat-belt ticket. In Kansas, your citation might be dismissed if you can provide the court with proof of valid insurance for the date of the citation within 10 days.
Driving without car insurance at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can also expect your car insurance premium to go up. A single conviction for driving without insurance raises annual premiums by an average of 11%, or $150, in Kansas.
What happens if you get into a car accident without insurance in Kansas?
If you get into an accident while driving without insurance in Kansas, you will be cited and all the penalties for driving without insurance will apply, no matter who is at fault. Driving uninsured can make it difficult to be compensated for damages if you are not at fault and can have long-lasting and life-changing consequences if you are at fault.
If the accident is your fault, you’ll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket. In addition to the legal consequences for driving without insurance, you could easily be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars or more in damage to your vehicle, the other driver’s repair and hospital bills, and your own medical care. Both the other driver and their insurance company can sue you and have future wages and savings garnished to pay for damages. You could face mounting debt or even bankruptcy, especially if the other driver doesn’t carry uninsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection.
Even if the accident is not your fault, driving without insurance leaves you vulnerable to expensive hospital and repair bills. Kansas is a no-fault state. In no-fault states, all drivers process claims through their own insurance companies, no matter who caused the crash. If you’re struck by a driver in a no-fault state and you don’t have car insurance, you’ll probably end up paying for everything out of your own pocket.
Kansas is also a “no pay, no play” state, which means uninsured motorists must pay a certain amount out of pocket before they can pursue damages from an at-fault driver. Kansas strictly limits what uninsured drivers can legally pursue. In Kansas, no pay, no play means you cannot recover non-economic damages (i.e., pain and suffering, emotional stress) if you failed to carry personal injury protection as required by Kansas law or were driving while intoxicated.
You can get car insurance in Kansas, even if you are…
Uninsured: Unless you’re a newly licensed driver, having a history of driving without insurance or lapses in coverage is a risk to insurers. To insurance companies, it’s similar to a bad driving record, which is why drivers who let their insurance lapse for 60 days pay about 6% more than the average premium in Kansas. USAA, State Farm, Nationwide, and Geico tend to have the lowest rates for drivers who want to regain coverage.
Driving someone else’s car: It’s not illegal to drive someone else’s car if you do not have insurance, but non-owner car insurance can protect you if you don’t have a car but still drive regularly. If you borrow a car from someone living in your own home, you should be listed on the car owner’s policy. But you may want to explore non-owner coverage if you need to reinstate a driver’s license, you rent or borrow cars frequently, or you want to maintain continuous auto coverage between vehicles. Geico, State Farm, Nationwide, and The General good places to shop if you need non-driver car insurance.
High-Risk: If you’re a high-risk driver who has been denied coverage from traditional insurance companies, check out Kansas’s assigned risk program. Whether you require an assigned risk program or still qualify for high-risk insurance from conventional providers, you’ll pay more. In Kansas, drivers with just two speeding tickets pay an average of 37% more on their annual car insurance premiums, for example. Depending on your driving record and the seriousness of your infractions, you could pay even more. Still, even though rates may be higher, at least you can drive legally and avoid more penalties.
Final Thoughts: How to avoid driving without insurance in Kansas
To avoid the penalties of driving without insurance, shop around for at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage, as well as personal injury protection of liability coverage from three or more car insurance companies. In Kansas, you can find basic liability auto insurance for around $575 per year if you have a clean driving record. The consequences of driving without insurance are ultimately more costly than purchasing minimum auto insurance coverage. No matter what your unique needs are, the best way to get accurate quotes and the best prices is to comparison shop.
The Kansas new-car insurance grace period is 2 to 30 days in most cases. The new-car grace period is how long insured drivers are allowed to drive a newly purchased vehicle before adding it to an existing car insurance policy. If you don’t have a current policy, you’ll need proof of personal injury protection and liability coverage before you can legally drive or register your car in Kansas.… read full answer
When you buy a new car in Kansas, the time you have to notify your insurer can vary because there are no state laws guaranteeing how much time insurance companies must give you to switch your existing policy to a new car. Each insurance company sets its own grace period. That’s why it’s important to find out how much time you have to contact your insurance company and how much coverage your new car will have according to your specific policy details.
When You Need Insurance to Buy a New Car in Kansas
If you’re financing a car, you will probably be required by your lender to have proof of insurance before driving off the lot. You can get the information you need for a policy, like the car’s VIN, from the dealership before completing the purchase. If you do have an active policy, your current proof of insurance should be all you need.
If you’re paying cash or buying a car outright from a private seller, you probably won’t be asked to provide proof of insurance to take possession of the vehicle. Either way, you still have to meet minimum financial responsibility requirements to drive legally in Kansas: $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, along with $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage, as well as personal injury protection .
If you lease or finance a car, you'll probably also need collision and comprehensive coverage to protect the lender's investment. Collision policies average $468 per year, and comprehensive policies average $423 per year in Kansas. You can expect a premium of around $964 for a full coverage policy consisting of liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage.
Because you have to provide proof of insurance before you can take possession of a newly financed car, some insurers extend comprehensive and collision coverage to existing customers in good faith, regardless of whether their current policy has those types of coverage. If that’s the case, your grace period will be shorter—2 to 4 days instead of 7 to 30.
How New Car Insurance Grace Period Works in Kansas When You’re…
Replacing your old car with a new car. Most insurance companies offer a 7 to 30 day grace period if you replace a covered vehicle on your policy. The same type and amount of coverage that applies to the car you’re replacing will apply to the new one. If you have multiple cars on your policy, Kansas requires that your new car is covered by the highest level of coverage on the policy.
NOT replacing your old car with a new car. If you aren’t replacing your car when you purchase a new one, you should confirm you have at least minimum liability coverage for the car you are buying in Kansas. Not all insurance companies extend coverage if you are adding a new vehicle to your policy—for example, if you’re going from two to three cars. If they do, it will be for a shorter time, usually 2 to 4 days.
Although you probably have a grace period if you’re already insured, it’s best not to depend on it. Contact your insurance company as soon as possible to let them know about changes to your policy, especially when it comes to confirming coverage for a new car.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.