The cheapest insurance for drivers in Delaware who have committed SR-22-type violations is from USAA. Delaware is one of eight states that do not require high-risk drivers to file an SR-22 form as proof of insurance, but coverage can still be a lot more expensive than average for drivers who would need an SR-22 elsewhere.
For example, drivers in Delaware can expect to pay an average of 103% more for car insurance after actions like DUI, driving with a suspended license or reckless driving.
Cheap Insurance Companies in Delaware for High-Risk Drivers
It takes 3 to 5 years for car insurance to go down after an at-fault accident in most cases. Three years is a common penalty period for property damage claims. Insurance companies penalize drivers longer for accidents causing serious bodily harm or resulting from reckless or intoxicated driving. Premium increases vary widely by state and insurer, but the average increase is 41% after a single claim of $2,000 or more.… read full answer
Rates increase after an at-fault accident both to pay for the fees associated with filing a claim and to compensate the insurer for taking a higher risk. Drivers who have caused one accident are statistically more likely to be involved in another one.
Of course, if you pay for a policy with “accident forgiveness,” your rates won’t be raised for your first at-fault accident. Even without accident forgiveness, some insurance companies may give you a pass if it’s your first auto accident on a spotless driving record. Also, minor fender benders with less than $2,000 in damage may not trigger rate hikes.
However, no matter how minor your accidents are, if you have more than one within 6 years, or you have a combination of tickets and claims within 2-3 years, you are likely to face higher rates. Sometimes, it’s cheaper to pay for minor accident damage out of your pocket than to file a claim and trigger a rate increase.
Unfortunately, even if the accident you’re involved in isn’t your fault, you may find your insurance premium going up if you make a claim. This practice is prohibited by some states, but a study by the Consumer Federation of America found that most drivers who have made claims for not-at-fault accidents experienced rate increases of 8%-12%. For the insurance company, how much you’ve cost them is the most important consideration.
If age or inexperience, rather than accidents or violations, are the cause of your high premiums, you should see some decrease each year. If you’re a young driver, the biggest drop will come when you turn 25. If you are an older new driver, the largest decrease will come when you have five years of safe driving behind you.
The cost of car insurance typically goes down the most between the ages of 18 and 19, when rates drop by about 25% on average. Car insurance premiums generally continue to go down each year until age 25, when rates begin to level off for the next few decades. When drivers turn 25 years old, they can expect a discount of about 14%.… read full answer
Note: The table above shows average annual rates for minimum coverage across all 50 states.
Around middle age, rates may begin to creep back up. This is because middle-aged drivers tend to insure newer, nicer cars and begin to add their children to the policy, increasing the average rate for this age range overall. Individual rates also start to go up again between the ages of 65 and 75 because senior drivers have a higher risk of accidents than middle-aged drivers.
Why Age Affects Car Insurance
Age affects car insurance rates because it’s an indicator of a driver’s risk to an insurance company. Young drivers are statistically more likely to get into a car accident than older, more experienced drivers. As a result, they’re considered high-risk and are more expensive to insure.
The risk for the insurer and the cost for the insured then generally decline as drivers age and gain experience. Once drivers pass the age of 65, however, their risk starts to go up again. Not only are senior drivers more likely to get into an accident than middle-aged drivers, but they’re also more likely to be injured as a result.
States Where Age Does Not Affect Rates
Although most people in the U.S. will find their prices change according to this timeline, there are a few states in which insurers can’t use age to determine your rate. In California, Hawaii, and Massachusetts, age won’t have a direct effect on how much you pay for car insurance. Other factors will still have an impact, though. Your driving record, credit score, and marital status can all affect your final premium.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.