You can check your driving record for free in some states by going to the designated government website and entering your personal information, or requesting a copy in person or by mail. Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, and Ohio allow residents to check their driving record for free. In states that don’t allow you to check your driving record for free, you should expect to pay a $2-$25 fee.
How to Check Your Driving Record
Go to your state’s official DMV, Department of Revenue, or Secretary of State website (varies by state).
Provide your personal information.
Pay any applicable fees, if requested.
Have your printer ready if you want an unofficial hard copy.
Alternatively, you could ask your insurer for a copy, since they consider your driving record when calculating your premium. However, they are not obligated to give it to you for free.
Key Things to Remember About Checking Your Driving Record
Most states don’t allow you to check your driving record for free.
The fee for checking your record can be as high as $25.
You may be able to get a copy of your driving record from your insurance company.
Knowing what’s on your driving record allows you to anticipate when moving violations or accidents will stop affecting your insurance rate.
Most insurance companies check your driving record for the past three to five years, meaning if you had a violation outside this time period, it will not affect your insurance premiums. Some states regulate this “look-back” period, however, making it longer or shorter. For example, Massachusetts allows insurance companies to look back at 10 years of driving records. Virginia limits insurers to checking only three years of history.… read full answer
When you apply for, or renew, your auto insurance, the insurance company will evaluate your risk level — how likely you are to cost them money through claims. The best way to do this is by reviewing your driving record. Insurers look for accident reports and both major and minor driving violations.
Minor violations include speeding, failure to stop, improper turns, following too closely, etc. These raise your risk in the eyes of an insurance company because they show you don’t obey traffic laws designed to prevent crashes. In most states, minor traffic violations can be seen on your record for only three years.
Speeding (at least 20 mph over the limit), reckless driving, impaired driving, leaving the scene of an accident, and vehicular manslaughter are examples of major driving violations. They stay on your record longer. In Florida, for example, causing an accident while under the influence stays on your record for 75 years, basically your lifetime. Insurance companies count serious violations and at-fault accidents heavily in setting premiums.
Once the blemishes on your record are older than the look-back period, however, they are no longer a factor in setting your rates. For example, if your insurance company has a look-back period of five years, an accident you had in 2014 would stop affecting your rates in 2019. Your insurance rates should decrease at your next renewal as a result.
A car accident stays on your record for insurance for three to five years, depending on the state and insurance company. After that period, an accident no longer appears on a driver’s record for insurance purposes and will not affect car insurance premiums directly.
Just remember that even if the record of the accident goes away after three years, it could take as long as five years before a driver is able to once again qualify for good driver discounts. For example, Geico requires drivers to go five consecutive years without an at-fault accident in order to qualify, while drivers with State Farm can requalify for an accident-free discount after three years.… read full answer
Overall, first-time car accidents increase premiums by an average of 50%, depending on the state and resulting damage. But it’s possible that an accident won’t affect your rates at all.
For example, hit-and-runs committed against you don’t usually affect your insurance costs. And if an accident is a first offense on an otherwise spotless record, your insurance company might offer accident forgiveness, which would prevent your rates from going up. However, not every company offers this perk, and some only offer it as an add-on coverage option.
On the other hand, if you commit a hit and run or cause an accident due to DUI, the accident could stay on your insurance record for up to 10 years or longer. It will also lead to a significant increase in the cost of insurance.
To check how many points are on your license, you’ll need to request a copy of your driving record using your state DMV’s online portal, by mailing a request, or by visiting your local DMV in person. Some states allow you to check how many points are on your license for free, but other states charge a fee of $2 to $25.… read full answer
How to Check How Many Points Are on Your License
Go to your state DMV’s website.
Provide your personal information in the required fields.
Pay any fees, if necessary.
Follow the instructions to request a copy in person or through the mail if your driving record is unavailable online.
What Information You’ll Need to Check Your License for Points
Date of birth
SSN (may be optional)
Where to Request Your Driving Record in the 10 Largest States
Alternatively, you can ask your insurance company for a copy of your driving record to see how many points you have on your license. They are not required to send you a copy, though.
At the end of the day, it is important to know how many points you have on your license and what else is on your driving record so you can better understand what violations may be affecting your insurance premiums. To learn more, check out WalletHub’s guide to points on licenses.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.