Drivers with a learner’s permit need to be covered under an insurance policy. Having insurance coverage while learning to drive provides protection in the event of an accident or another driving mishap. But even though drivers with a learner’s permit need insurance coverage, they usually don’t need their own car insurance policy.
If a young person with a learner’s permit is driving with a licensed, insured adult over the age of 21, that person’s insurance typically would provide coverage in the event of an accident. Moreover, if the driver is a teen, they do not need to obtain their own coverage unless they are the sole owner of a car. Usually, teen drivers with learner’s permits are covered by their parent’s insurance, because they are either borrowing their parent’s car or are listed as a co-owner with their parents.
Older people who are learning to drive and are not covered by a relative’s or roommate’s policy are normally covered by the policy of the person whose car they are borrowing during driving lessons. However, if they purchase a car before obtaining a license and are listed as the sole owner of that car, then they will need to purchase insurance coverage in order to avoid breaking state laws.
Car insurance is likely to cost more than $5,500 annually for a new driver who is 17 years old to get a stand-alone policy. On the other hand, auto insurance will cost about $2,750 extra per year when adding a 17-year-old new driver to a parent’s policy. But insurance costs for new drivers vary widely.
Age is a major factor in how much insurance costs for a new driver. Not everyone gets their first...
Car insurance for a 16-year-old is $3,192 per year for minimum coverage, on average. Sixteen-year-old drivers pay an average of $3,192 per year for full coverage, which typically includes comprehensive and collision insurance in addition to the state's minimum requirements.
Sixteen-year-olds pay more for car insurance than older, more experienced drivers because insurers consider them to be high-risk, meaning they're more likely to file a claim. Because the cost of coverage for 16-year-olds is so...
Yes, you will likely have to add your teenager to your car insurance when they first get their permit and start driving. Some states - including Illinois, Indiana, Maryland and others - allow insurance companies to require that customers list a teen driver on their policy when the teen receives a learner's permit. However, different insurers differ on when you have to start paying extra for them.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.