WalletHub, Financial Company
No, you do not need uninsured motorist coverage in Florida if you have health insurance. Florida law does not require drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, though it’s still a good idea to buy it as an added layer of protection, even if you do have health insurance.
Florida has the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in the U.S., after all, plus low minimum insurance requirements. And the cost of serious injuries from a car accident caused by an uninsured motorist can easily surpass the $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) that Florida requires drivers to carry.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury vs. Health Insurance
Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI) coverage pays for your medical bills if you are in a crash caused by an uninsured driver. If you don’t have UMBI, health insurance will normally cover these bills. But the biggest difference between health insurance and uninsured motorist coverage is that UMBI generally includes loss of wages, funeral expenses, and sometimes even pain and suffering.
UMBI also involves fewer out-of-pocket costs for the policyholder than health insurance in the event of a collision. For example, health insurance holds policyholders responsible for expenses like co-pays, co-insurance, and a deductible. UMBI does not have a deductible or other out-of-pocket costs. Additionally, health insurance policies may be limited to a certain network of providers, while UMBI will pay for care from a wider variety of sources.
In short, uninsured motorist coverage in Florida is an inexpensive way to gain extra coverage in case you are ever hit by a driver without insurance. Adding uninsured motorist coverage to a typical Florida car insurance policy will only cost about $270 per year, on average. So, even if you have health insurance, uninsured motorist coverage is still a good long-term investment.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?