McKayla Girardin, Car Insurance Writer
Yes, you do need car insurance in Vermont. Drivers in Vermont need at least bodily injury liability, property damage liability, and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance for a minimum coverage policy, and it’s a good idea to also consider optional types of coverage to ensure you’re fully protected in the event of an accident.
Car insurance in Vermont costs an average of $28 per month for a minimum coverage policy and an average of $109 monthly for full coverage.
Types of Car Insurance Required in Vermont
- Bodily injury liability insurance of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for the medical expenses of other drivers in accidents you cause. It can cover things like hospital fees, loss of income, pain and suffering, and funeral costs.
- Property damage liability of at least $10,000. Property damage liability insurance pays for other drivers' property damage in accidents you cause. It can cover things like vehicle repairs or damage to stationary objects like houses or fences.
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance of at least $50,000 per person of bodily injury, $100,000 per accident, and $10,000 in property damage. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage pays for your expenses after an accident caused by a driver who doesn't have any car insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover all of the damage they caused.
Monthly Cost of Car Insurance in Vermont
Premiums are representative of a 45-year-old good driver with a minimum coverage policy.
Vermont is similar to the majority of states in that it requires all drivers to have at least a certain amount of car insurance. Virginia and New Hampshire, on the other hand, are the only states that do not require drivers to carry traditional auto insurance.
To learn more, check out WalletHub’s guides to how much insurance you need and the penalties for driving without insurance.
Did we answer your question?