Yes, windshield repair claims affect insurance in most states, though the rate increase is usually small because windshield repair claims are not related to the policyholder’s driving. Insurance companies generally raise rates after windshield repair claims in order to recoup the cost of the claim.
However, it’s worth noting that insurance companies in California and Oklahoma are not allowed to raise premiums for a not-at-fault claim. Insurance companies react differently to claims, too, so whether your rate changes could depend on your particular insurer.
In short, whether windshield repair claims affects your insurance will ultimately depend on the company and your state laws.
It costs $200 to $300 to replace a windshield without insurance, on average. The exact amount you will have to pay to replace your windshield depends on a number of factors including the year, make, model, and trim of your car.
Replacing the windshield of a new, luxury vehicle loaded with features could cost twice as much as replacing the glass of an older, economy car. The type of glass used is another factor that greatly influences your final price.… read full answer
OEM vs. Aftermarket Windshield Replacement Cost
Aftermarket windshields cost around $100 less than OEM (original equipment manufacturer) glass. But AAA warns that using lower-quality parts might be a risk. Bargain windshields may create optical distortions that make it harder to drive.
Another safety concern with aftermarket parts is fit. Your windshield helps to support the roof and structure of your car in an accident and plays a critical role in airbag deployment. If it doesn’t fit perfectly, you’re less safe in the event of a crash.
How Much Does it Cost to Repair a Windshield?
It generally costs between $50 and $150 to repair a cracked windshield, but it could cost less in some cases. Usually, the smaller the chip, the cheaper it will be to repair.
Even without insurance, windshield repair or replacement should be pretty affordable. But if you do have insurance, it’s possible that you may not have to pay anything at all. Many insurers offer $0 or low deductible glass claims as part of comprehensive coverage.
When You Should Replace Your Windshield
In general, your windshield needs to be replaced if it has a fissure larger than a dollar bill or a chip that’s larger than a quarter. If the damage is small and falls out of the driver’s line of sight, it can usually be repaired rather than replaced.
You should not file an auto insurance claim if only your own vehicle is damaged, there are no injuries, and the property damage is minimal. A claim might make it cheaper to pay for a single incident, but it will likely raise your future premiums, which could end up costing you more money in the long run.… read full answer
When Not to File an Insurance Claim
After a minor single-car accident, when there’s little damage.
After an accident with another driver resulting in no injuries and minimal property damage.
If the cost to repair your car is less than your deductible.
If the rise in your premium as a result of filing a claim will be more than your out-of-pocket costs.
A single at-fault claim raises premiums by about 40% on average. That means the average driver’s annual premium of about $1,500 would increase by approximately $600 after an accident, and it wouldn’t go down for three to five years. By comparison, the average collision claim is about $3,600.
Consequences of Not Reporting an Accident or Filing a Claim
Although it’s often the right decision to report accidents and/or file a claim, there’s no law that requires you to tell your insurance company. But insurers do require policyholders to immediately report accidents, and failing to do so can result in denied claims.
As a result, you should notify your insurer any time an accident involves another driver or results in any injuries. You should also contact your insurance company any time fault is unclear or if there is serious damage to a vehicle.
If you don’t plan to file a claim, remember that insurers keep close tabs on their interactions with customers through the CLUE database. Insurance companies often treat specific questions about coverage as claims with $0 payouts. Although it’s unlikely such a claim would affect your premium right away, regular inquiries could flag you as a frequent claimer.
It’s best to use insurance for its intended purpose—to protect against financially crippling situations. If you can pay out of pocket for a single-vehicle accident, it’s usually in your best interest to do so.
If a car accident is not your fault, your insurance rate could still go up, depending on your state and insurance company. On average, a not-at-fault accident makes insurance costs go up by about 12%, compared to 45% for an at-fault accident.
Insurance rates can go up after a not-at-fault accident because statistics show that having any accident on your driving record makes you more likely to file a claim in the future. And in some situations, not-at-fault accidents can still cost insurers money. … read full answer
California and Oklahoma are the only two states that prohibit insurance companies from raising rates after not-at-fault accidents. In states where it is allowed, the exact amount that your premium will go up depends on your insurance company. As of 2017, for example, Progressive increased premiums by an average of 16.6% after a not-at-fault accident. Meanwhile, Allstate only increased rates by 4.8%, and drivers with State Farm didn’t see their rates go up at all.
Situations Where Your Insurance Company Has to Pay
In most cases, your insurance company won’t have to pay for a not-at-fault accident since the other driver’s policy will cover your expenses. But if you’re hit by an uninsured motorist or you’re the victim of a hit-and-run, your policy might cover the damages depending on what types of coverage you have. Liability insurance alone wouldn’t cover your expenses, but other types including collision and uninsured/underinsured motorist would. And if you live in a no-fault state, your insurance company will have to pay for your medical expenses regardless of who caused the accident. As a result, any cost to your insurer will be taken into consideration when your insurer is re-evaluating your premium.
Although it’s frustrating to be charged for an accident that wasn’t your fault, the effects on your premium will only be temporary. Accidents usually only stay on your driving record for three years, so if you continue to practice safe driving habits during that time, your rates will eventually go back down.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.