The penalties for driving without insurance in Maryland can include fines up to $1,000, fines, suspension of registration, and imprisonment. Penalties for repeat offenses may be even harsher, including a longer jail sentence.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance inMaryland
|Type of Offense ||License and/or Registration Suspended? ||Car Impounded? ||Jail Time? ||SR-22 Required? ||Maximum Fines & Fees |
|No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage Later) ||No ||No ||No ||No ||$50 mandatory fee |
| 1st Offense With No Coverage |
|Yes, registration ||No ||Up to 1 year ||No ||Up to $1,000 |
|Repeat Offense (No Coverage) ||Yes, registration ||No ||Up to 2 years ||No ||Up to $2,000 |
Not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but cannot prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an "administrative violation", similar to a seat-belt ticket. In Maryland, your citation might be dismissed if you can provide the court with proof of valid insurance for the date of the citation within 30 days.
Driving without car insurance at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can also expect your car insurance premium to go up.
You can avoid these consequences by meeting Maryland's minimum car insurance requirements.
Required Car Insurance in Maryland
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $60,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $15,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
- uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage equal to the minimum liability limits
- $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
The key to maintaining the minimum amount of coverage required by Maryland is to find a policy you can afford. If your coverage has already lapsed, start by comparing quotes from the insurance companies WalletHub's analysis identified as having the best post-lapse rates.
Best Car Insurance in Maryland After a Lapse in Coverage
Drivers in Maryland pay an average of $2,120 per year to maintain the minimum amount of coverage. That's nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident.
What Happens If You Get Into a Car Accident Without Insurance in Maryland?
1. If you get into an accident: all penalties will apply.
If you get into an accident while driving without insurance in Maryland, you will incur the penalties for driving without insurance no matter who is at fault. Driving uninsured can make it difficult to be compensated for damages if you are not at fault and can have long-lasting and life-changing consequences if you are at fault.
2. If the accident is your fault: you'll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket.
In addition to the legal consequences of driving without insurance, you could easily be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars or more in damages to your vehicle, the other driver's car repairs and hospital bills, and your own medical care. You could face mounting debt or even bankruptcy, especially if the other driver doesn't carry uninsured motorist coverage or personal injury protection.
3. Even if you were not at fault or only partially at fault, there will be other consequences.
Driving uninsured doesn't negate the other driver's fault entirely, but you're almost certainly going to be penalized and unable to recover everything you would be entitled to if you had insurance. In at-fault states such as Maryland, the driver who caused the accident is usually responsible for damage to your car and any medical treatment you may need. However, Maryland uses a pure contributory negligence system, which means you may not be able to recover all the costs associated with the accident if you are found even partially responsible for causing it. This would leave you to cover these costs out of pocket if you were uninsured at the time.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.