The best car insurance in Colorado for drivers with a DUI is from American National, Southern Farm, and State Farm. Getting a DUI in Colorado will raise insurance premiums by an average of $688 per year, but drivers can minimize the cost of post-DUI car insurance by comparing quotes from the cheapest companies.
Insurance for drivers with a DUI is expensive because the violation indicates that you are more likely to file a claim than the average driver. In Colorado, a DUI will only affect your rate for about 3-5 years, so the higher rates won’t last forever.
Insurance companies find out about DUI by checking a driver’s record before selling or renewing a policy. Drivers are not legally obligated to inform their insurance company when they are convicted of DUI, and the insurer will not receive a notification from the state DMV. However, once a DUI is on a driving record, an insurance company is certain to find out about it, so it’s always best to upfront after being convicted.… read full answer
Whenever you’re looking to buy a new insurance policy or renew an existing one, the insurance company will check your Motor Vehicle Report (MVR), which is a report of your driving history from your state’s department of motor vehicles. Exactly when your insurance company will find out about your DUI depends on when and how often they run your record, but they’ll eventually see it. Your insurer will also find out about your DUI if you require an SR-22 or FR-44, which are state-issued forms that serve as verification of insurance for extremely high-risk drivers.
As tempting as it might be to keep quiet about your DUI conviction, you should contact your insurer to find out what to do moving forward. If your current insurance company decides not to renew your policy, you’ll need to look for high-risk coverage elsewhere. Since high-risk insurance costs more than a normal policy, it’s best to get as many quotes as possible. If you struggle to find a company that will insure you, you might need to temporarily get a policy through a nonstandard insurer or your state’s assigned-risk pool while your driving record improves.
To find out if you still need an SR-22, contact your local DMV office and ask if your SR-22 form has been filed for the required period of time. If it has, you can then contact your car insurance company and request that they remove your SR-22 filing with the state. Each state has its own requirements, but you usually only need an SR-22 for about … read full answerthree years.
You should never cancel your SR-22 filing if the DMV says you still need it. Doing so would result in penalties such as driver’s license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, and hefty fees. In addition, you would likely need to start the SR-22 filing period all over again.
Drivers in Colorado need $25,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person (up to $50,000 per accident) and $15,000 of property damage liability insurance. Collision, comprehensive and gap insurance may also be required by a lender or lessor if your vehicle is financed.
In addition, an optional but recommended type of coverage in Colorado is … read full answeruninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. It replaces the liability coverage an at-fault driver should’ve had and pays for your costs up to your policy limits.
Here’s How Much Car Insurance Drivers Need in Colorado:
Minimum Coverage Limit
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per person)
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per accident)
Property Damage Liability
If you lease or finance your car, you may be required to carry coverage types that are not mandatory under Colorado law. Lenders or lessors usually require comprehensive and collision insurance. Collision insurance covers repairs to your car when you hit another car or object. If the damage to your vehicle was caused by something other than a collision—like a natural disaster, vandalism, falling objects, or animals—it is most likely covered by comprehensive insurance. Lenders may also require gap insurance, which covers the difference between what you owe on your loan or lease and what the vehicle is worth if it has been stolen or totaled.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.