The 5 top-selling auto insurers in Georgia are also the top 5 auto insurance companies in the U.S. In fact, all of the popular national auto insurance companies operate in Georgia. Georgia also has a large selection of local and regional auto insurance providers, led by Georgia Farm Bureau.
Largest Georgia Auto Insurance Companies, by Premiums
Among all the Georgia auto insurance companies, big and small, 21st Century, American National, Twin City Fire Insurance Company, the Hartford Insurance, and Safe Auto seem to be the cheapest options overall, according to recent WalletHub research.
WalletHub collected more than 9,500 quotes from 73 auto insurers in the state to come up with its list of the Best Cheap Car Insurance in Georgia for 2019. This can be a useful starting point in your search for good coverage at a good rate.
The cheapest states for car insurance are Iowa, Vermont and Nebraska, according to WalletHub's Cheap Car Insurance Study. They are the cheapest states for auto insurance in large part because they have low population density and relatively few uninsured motorists. In contrast, New York, Florida and New Jersey are the most expensive states for car insurance.… read full answer
Population and uninsured motorists are the two main reasons for variations in policy costs from state to state. After all, fewer people means fewer drivers on the road, which means fewer accidents. And a low percentage of uninsured motorists means that more of the people on the road are responsible drivers. It also means insurance companies face fewer claims from their own customers who've been hit by uninsured motorists. Both a low population and low numbers of uninsured motorists keep claims and premiums down.
In addition to the population and number of uninsured drivers, other factors that affect car insurance costs include state laws, crime rates, and special weather hazards. State laws govern how much insurance coverage drivers are required to carry, and no-fault laws impact insurers' risks. Crime rates mainly impact comprehensive coverage, which covers losses due to theft or violence. Weather hazards - like hurricanes, hail or snowstorms - cause more breakdowns and accidents.
Georgia is not a no-fault state for auto insurance. Somebody has to be found at-fault for an accident before any claims are paid. However, fault is not an either-or issue in this state. Georgia is one of 12 states that has a Modified Comparative Fault rule. That means the jury in a personal injury trial can divide fault among the drivers involved in an accident in Georgia.… read full answer
In some states with Modified Comparative Fault, you can have 99% responsibility for an accident and still place a claim against the 1% at-fault party. However, in Georgia you must be less than 50% at fault to receive any compensation from the other party. If your percentage of fault is less than 50 but more than 0, your claims are reduced by that percentage. For example, if a jury declares you to be 10% at fault because you were driving above the speed limit when the other car hit you, your claim will be reduced by 10%.
By law, motorists in Georgia must carry minimum liability insurance of $25,000 for bodily injury per person, up to $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. If an at-fault driver’s liability insurance doesn’t fully compensate the victims, the at-fault driver can be held responsible for paying the remainder out of pocket. This makes carrying extra liability insurance in Georgia well worth considering, to protect your assets and financial security.
The penalty for driving without insurance in Georgia is a fine of at least $200, loss of driving privileges, criminal conviction and potential jail time. Georgia is not lenient with drivers who get caught on the road without insurance, even first-time offenders.
For a first offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor that remains on your record permanently. This can affect your career and housing opportunities. You will also have to pay a court-ordered fine. And your license will be suspended for 60 days, with no hardship allowances. That means you won’t even be able to drive to work, school or doctor’s appointments. On top of all that, it’s possible—although unlikely—to spend up to a year in jail for a first offense in Georgia.… read full answer
The penalties go up for multiple offenses within a five-year period. In addition to higher fines, of up to $1,000, you can lose your license for as long as six months. The chances of serving jail time also increase with each offense.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia
Type of Offense
License and/or Registration Suspended?
Maximum Fines & Fees
No Proof of Insurance (Can Prove Coverage)
$25 mandatory fee
1st Offense With No Coverage
up to 1 year
$200 - $1,000
Repeat Offense (No Coverage)
Yes, no more than 12 months
$200 - $1,000
Consequences of an Insurance Lapse in Georgia
If you don’t actually get caught by a police officer for driving without insurance, Georgia imposes automatic penalties for just letting your insurance lapse. If your insurance is ever terminated or expired, your insurance company must electronically notify the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). The DDS gives you 30 days from the date of the expiration to provide proof of new insurance.
There are no penalties if they receive your new insurance information within the 30-day period, as long as there has been no lapse in coverage (10+ days without coverage). If there has been a lapse, you’ll face fines of $85 - $185, depending on whether it is a first, second or third offense.
If you don’t provide proof of new insurance during the 30 days, you’ll get a “Notice of Pending Suspension.” That gives you 30 additional days to pay your fine and provide proof of insurance, or else your vehicle’s registration will be suspended.
In addition to all the penalties the state imposes, auto insurance rates are about 30% higher on average once you’ve been convicted of driving without insurance or you’ve allowed your coverage to lapse. You may even need to find an insurer in Georgia that works with high-risk drivers, such as Esurance, Dairyland or Serenity Insurance.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.