You can get points off your license in Georgia by taking an approved driving course. Georgia allows drivers who fit certain eligibility requirements to complete a driving course in order to remove seven points. Driving courses that reduce your license points might also be called traffic school or defensive driving classes.
Drivers must bring the original certificate of completion to a DDS Customer Service Center
Course can only be completed once every 5 years
Car insurance companies generally check your driving record to determine your risk as a customer. However, your premium has more to do with the violations on your record than the exact number of points on your license. As a result, you can keep your premium from increasing if you take a driving course that prevents a moving violation from going on your record.
Some insurers also give discounts for completing an approved defensive driving class even if it does not affect your license points or driving record. For more information, check out WalletHub’s guide to traffic school.
Drivers in Georgia need $25,000 of bodily injury liability insurance per person (up to $50,000 per accident) and $25,000 of property damage liability insurance. Collision, comprehensive and gap insurance may also be required by a lender or lessor if your vehicle is financed.
In addition, an optional but recommended type of coverage in Georgia is … read full answeruninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. It replaces the liability coverage an at-fault driver should’ve had and pays for your costs up to your policy limits.
Here’s How Much Car Insurance Drivers Need in Georgia:
Minimum Coverage Limit
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per person)
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (per accident)
Property Damage Liability
If you lease or finance your car, you may be required to carry coverage types that are not mandatory under Georgia law. Lenders or lessors usually require comprehensive and collision insurance. Collision insurance covers repairs to your car when you hit another car or object. If the damage to your vehicle was caused by something other than a collision—like a natural disaster, vandalism, falling objects, or animals—it is most likely covered by comprehensive insurance. Lenders may also require gap insurance, which covers the difference between what you owe on your loan or lease and what the vehicle is worth if it has been stolen or totaled.
Even if you’re not required to carry these optional coverage types, you may still need them. You can learn more about when to drop optional coverage and the penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia to make sure you’re paying for the coverage you need.
A high-risk driver is someone who is much more likely to file an insurance claim than the average driver. Some of the most common attributes of high-risk drivers are a history of car accidents, multiple tickets and citations, bad credit, and a conviction for a serious offense like DUI. Regardless of the exact reason why you’re classified as a high-risk driver, it can have a serious impact on your ability to get affordable car insurance down the road.… read full answer
Here’s what makes someone a high-risk driver:
One or more car accidents in the last three years
Multiple tickets and citations
Lapse in coverage
Owning a sports car
Needing an SR-22 or FR-44
Being a new or teen driver
Living in a high-risk zip code
Although your driving record has the greatest impact on your high-risk status, other factors come into play, too. For example, a lapse in your auto insurance coverage can signal to insurers that you’re willing to take more risks and are therefore more likely to get into an accident. And if you live in an area that has a high crime rate, there’s a greater chance that your car will be damaged and you’ll file a claim.
Since high-risk drivers generally have an increased likelihood of filing a claim, they can have a more difficult time getting car insurance, and usually have to pay more for coverage. There’s no quick fix, either, unfortunately. But the good thing is that your high-risk status isn’t permanent. If you practice good habits and drive safely, your risk will drop over time. How far back an insurer looks back at your driving record depends on the company, but most minor traffic violations only stay on your driving record for 3-5 years.
One point is unlikely to affect a driver’s insurance costs, if it is the only point on the driver’s record. One point is assigned for a minor violation, like driving with broken taillights or an expired license, which the insurance company might not even hear about it. And if the insurer does not tally the point, it will not result in a higher premium.… read full answer
Forty-one of the 50 states use a license-points system. Drivers get points for different traffic violations, such as speeding and driving under the influence. The other nine states (Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and Wyoming) keep track of the number of traffic violations you have, instead. Then your license will be suspended if you end up with too many violations. The only difference is that those nine states don’t use a publicly defined points system, where specific traffic violations equal a certain number of points toward a suspended license.
The long-term effects of 1 point on your license
Insurance companies don’t track state license points, but they definitely care about the traffic violations that earn you those points. So your license points and your insurance costs are related. In fact, insurance companies have their own points systems for policy pricing, which consider serious traffic violations, claims history, and more.
That’s important because an additional violation or claim could potentially raise your insurance rates by 50% or more, if you already have a point on your record. Having a point on your record means that you’re one point closer to exceeding your state’s point limit and losing your driving privileges.
In some states, a defensive driving course can get points wiped off your record. Once you complete the course, your state removes a set number of points from your license. However, not all states have a point reduction program, including some states that use points to track violations. That’s why it’s still important to pay your ticket(s) on time and do your best to abide by all traffic laws if you want to increase your chances of avoiding any further state or insurance penalties.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.