You can get your SR-22 removed in North Dakota after 1 year by notifying your insurance company, which will cancel the SR-22 filing with the state. Sometimes, the Department of Transportation (DOT) will send you a notice letting you know when your SR-22 period is over.
If you’re not sure whether you’ve satisfied your SR-22 certification requirement, you can find out when you’ll be able to remove the high-risk SR-22 label from your driving record by contacting the Department of Transportation (DOT). Drivers who cancel their SR-22 coverage too early risk having their license suspended or facing fines.
Once you cancel your SR-22, your insurance premiums will likely go down because you are no longer considered as high-risk. As a result, you should get quotes from different insurance companies to make sure that you’re still getting the best deal. Additionally, if you do not own a car but were previously required to file a non-owner SR-22, you are free to cancel your insurance altogether.
Drivers need SR-22 insurance in North Dakota after being convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as reckless driving or DUI. These drivers are considered “high risk” and are required to file an SR-22 certificate with the state to prove they have at least the minimum amount of car insurance required by North Dakota law. Drivers in North Dakota must maintain their SR-22 filing for 1 year.… read full answer
Your first speeding ticket won’t necessarily guarantee that you need an SR-22. North Dakota only requires an SR-22 for specific traffic offenses, or accidents that cost more than a certain dollar amount.
Drivers in North Dakota Need SR-22 Insurance After:
Driving without insurance
DUI or DWI conviction
Refusing a breathalyzer
Repeated traffic violations
At-fault accident causing injuries or death
Since each of these violations is serious, insurance companies consider drivers who need an SR-22 to be high-risk customers. That means if you are required to buy SR-22 coverage, insurance companies will charge you more in premiums to offset what they see as the added risk of covering you.
SR-22 insurance in North Dakota costs an average of $430 per year, an increase of 12% compared to standard car insurance rates. In addition to an increased premium, it costs between $15 and $25 to file an SR-22 form in North Dakota, depending on the insurance company.
An SR-22 is a state-issued form verifying that a driver is carrying the minimum amount of car insurance coverage required by the state after they are convicted of a serious violation like DUI or reckless driving. Because an SR-22 designates the policyholder as high-risk, their insurance premium goes up while it’s on file with the state. Drivers in North Dakota who need to file an SR-22 will also lose any discount related to good driving that they may have previously qualified for.… read full answer
The effect of an SR-22 on the cost of insurance is only temporary, though. In North Dakota, drivers only need to have their SR-22 on file for 1 year. After that, the driver’s premium will start to go back down, assuming they drive responsibly.
Note: Rates are an approximation based on a driver in North Dakota with minimum coverage. Actual rates will vary.
Post-DUI insurance rates are 6% to 347% higher than premiums for drivers with clean records, depending on the state and insurance company. For example, Progressive only raises rates by an average of 6% after one DUI, while customers with Nationwide will see their premiums increase by about 125%. Similarly, a DUI affects insurance rates differently between states. Drivers in Maryland see the smallest increase in rates after a DUI, at only 28% on average. Rates in North Carolina, on the other hand, jump by an average of 347% – the most in the country.… read full answer
Insurance rates rise after a DUI because it indicates that a driver is riskier to cover and more likely to file an expensive claim. However, the good news is that most drivers will see their rates return to normal after 3-5 years, which is how far back insurance companies usually look at driving records. So even if a DUI remains on your driving record for longer, it will only affect your insurance rates for a few years if you practice safe driving habits. The only exception is that you might still be unable to qualify for good-driver discounts beyond the lookback period, depending on your state and insurance company.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.