Anamarie Waite, Car Insurance Writer
Hawaii is a no-fault state, which means that drivers get coverage for car accident injuries from their own insurer without the need to determine who caused the accident. Policies in no-fault states must include personal injury protection (PIP).
Drivers in Hawaii are required to carry at least $20,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, up to $40,000 per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver’s expenses.
On average, state minimum coverage costs $445 per year in Hawaii, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by Hawaii law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In Hawaii, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $1,480 per year in Hawaii. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but Hawaii drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in Hawaii balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like Island Insurance, First of Hawaii online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?