Anamarie Waite, Car Insurance Writer
New Mexico is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for everyone injured in the accident. There are no restrictions on the right to sue after an accident in at-fault states, even if the insured buys personal injury protection (PIP).
Drivers in New Mexico are required to carry at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, up to $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver’s expenses.
On average, state minimum coverage costs $1,042 per year in New Mexico, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by New Mexico law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In New Mexico, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $3,814 per year in New Mexico. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but New Mexico drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in New Mexico balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like State Farm, Allstate, American Family, The Hartford and Safeco online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?