Anamarie Waite, Car Insurance Writer
Texas is an at-fault state, which means that the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for everyone injured in the accident. There are no restrictions on the right to sue after an accident in at-fault states, even if the insured buys personal injury protection (PIP).
Drivers in Texas are required to carry at least $30,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person, up to $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. When an insured driver is responsible for an accident, liability insurance covers the other driver’s expenses.
On average, state minimum coverage costs $1,689 per year in Texas, but there are many factors that can affect how much you pay for a policy. Any coverage above and beyond what is required by Texas law is optional, but it’s usually worth the money to get some additional protection. The biggest reason is that state minimum coverage doesn’t protect your personal vehicle. For insurance to pay for damage to your car, you’ll need full coverage.
In Texas, full coverage refers to a policy that includes collision and comprehensive, plus higher coverage limits than what is required by state law. Full coverage car insurance costs about $5,335 per year in Texas. There may be cases when you don’t need full coverage insurance, but Texas drivers should buy as much coverage as they can afford as a general rule.
Most policies offer coverage for six months to one year at a time and can be paid in a variety of ways, including monthly payments. The best car insurance companies in Texas balance affordability with quality coverage and strong customer service. You can easily get a quote from top companies like Allstate, Geico, State Farm, TX Farm Bureau online or over the phone, or use WalletHub’s comparison tools to find the best car insurance policy for your needs.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?