Kansas does not use a license-points system to track driving offenses. In other words, you don’t have to worry about how long points will stay on your license in Kansas because they won’t be added in the first place.
Even though Kansas does not use license points, drivers can still face consequences if they commit serious or repeated moving violations. For example, drivers in Kansas can have their license suspended if they are charged with a DUI or fail to pay their traffic tickets. A policyholder’s driving history will also affect their insurance premiums in Kansas, since insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents.
You can check your overall driving record in Kansas by going to the Kansas Department of Revenue website. You will not be able to check how many points are on your license in Kansas, however, because Kansas does not use driver’s license points.
Even though Kansas does not use license points, drivers with serious violations on their driving record will still face consequences. For instance, a DUI conviction or failing to pay traffic tickets will result in a license suspension in Kansas. Insurance companies also increase prices for drivers with poor driving records. For reference, one DUI conviction will raise your premium by an average of 124% in Kansas.… read full answer
Car insurance points are how insurance companies grade each customer’s risk as a driver. Major auto insurance companies assign points based on certain behaviors by the driver, like filing accident claims or getting a speeding ticket. The points, in turn, help the insurance companies decide how much to charge drivers for a policy. The more points a driver has, the more they are likely to cost the insurance company, and the more they will have to pay for coverage as a result.… read full answer
Auto insurance points are not the same as driver’s license points, though there is a lot of overlap between them. In 41 of the 50 states, the department of motor vehicles assigns and tracks license points. You get points for different traffic violations, such as speeding or driving under the influence. Once you cross the state’s limit for license points, your license gets suspended. The other nine states also keep track of traffic violations to determine when to suspend a driver’s license, but they do not assign a point value to each violation.
One of the biggest differences between insurance points and license points is that insurance companies track more than just traffic violations. They also take your insurance claims and accidents into account. If you file a claim for any type of accident, you’ll probably pay more for your next insurance policy. Even a one-car accident (from accidentally hitting a mailbox or a deer) has the potential to raise your insurance costs.
An SR-22 in Kansas is a certificate proving that a high-risk driver has the legal requirements for car insurance in Kansas. So-called SR-22 insurance raises annual car insurance premiums by roughly $29 in Kansas, compared to standard rates. In addition, there’s usually a fee of $15 to $25 for your insurance company to file your SR-22 documentation with the state. … read full answer
Your SR-22 must be maintained with Kansas’s licensing agency for 1 year, according to Kansas law. If your insurance coverage lapses during that time, your insurance company is required to report you to the state. Your SR-22 period resets in that case, and you are required to pay any SR-22-related fees again.
What You Need to Know About SR-22 Insurance in Kansas:
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Kansas? Kansas requires SR-22 documentation for drivers who are convicted of serious traffic violations. The list includes reckless driving, hit and run, and DUI, among other major offenses.
What is Minimum SR-22 Car Insurance Coverage in Kansas: Drivers need at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident) plus $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. Drivers also need at least $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) in uninsured motorist insurance, as well as $4,500 in personal injury protection coverage, plus coverage for funeral expenses, lost wages, and more.
How to File SR-22 Documentation in Kansas: Your insurance company will file the SR-22 certificate with the state for you. For the next 1 year, you need to keep your insurance policy active with no lapse in coverage.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.