Points stay on your license for 36 months in North Carolina. After they expire, license points will no longer affect your driving privileges, so it’s worth keeping track of how much longer your points will last.
License points are designed to penalize drivers for unsafe behavior, and different moving violations will result in a different number of points in each state. For example, in North Carolina, speeding 1-14 miles per hour over the limit will result in three points.
Accumulating too many points too quickly can lead to serious consequences like fines and license suspensions. Drivers might also be classified as a high-risk to insure or be required to file an SR-22. In North Carolina, 12 points in 36 months will result in a license suspension.
Driving license points are also important because insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents. Customers with more violations on their record will be charged a higher premium since they are considered more likely to file a claim.
You can check how many points are on your license in North Carolina by going to the Department of Transportation website. Checking your license points in North Carolina will cost you $10.75 for uncertified record or $15 for a certified record, since you will need to pay for a copy of your driving record.… read full answer
North Carolina uses driver’s license points to track violations. Accumulating 12 points in three years will result in a suspended license. Insurance companies also check customers’ driving records for points, since having a poor driving record is associated with an increased risk of filing a claim. Consequently, license points will result in higher premiums. For instance, one DUI conviction will raise your premium by an average of 278% in North Carolina.
Car insurance points are how insurance companies grade each customer’s risk as a driver. Major auto insurance companies assign points based on certain behaviors by the driver, like filing accident claims or getting a speeding ticket. The points, in turn, help the insurance companies decide how much to charge drivers for a policy. The more points a driver has, the more they are likely to cost the insurance company, and the more they will have to pay for coverage as a result.… read full answer
Auto insurance points are not the same as driver’s license points, though there is a lot of overlap between them. In 41 of the 50 states, the department of motor vehicles assigns and tracks license points. You get points for different traffic violations, such as speeding or driving under the influence. Once you cross the state’s limit for license points, your license gets suspended. The other nine states also keep track of traffic violations to determine when to suspend a driver’s license, but they do not assign a point value to each violation.
One of the biggest differences between insurance points and license points is that insurance companies track more than just traffic violations. They also take your insurance claims and accidents into account. If you file a claim for any type of accident, you’ll probably pay more for your next insurance policy. Even a one-car accident (from accidentally hitting a mailbox or a deer) has the potential to raise your insurance costs.
High-risk auto insurance in North Carolina will not be cheap, as premiums for high-risk policies in the state average $1,733 per year. That’s about 74% more than the average cost of car insurance in North Carolina overall. Nevertheless, high-risk drivers in North Carolina should still be able to find suitable car insurance options after comparison shopping.… read full answer
Drivers defined as high-risk typically have a history of serious driving violations and face higher rates because they are statistically more likely to cost insurers more than the average driver. For this reason, many insurance companies won’t even sell coverage to high-risk drivers. However, other insurers specialize in high-risk coverage, so drivers with a checkered record have options.
The best high-risk auto insurance companies in North Carolina are Progressive, State Farm, Allstate because they are financially strong and have few customer complaints. Deficiencies in either area could be a sign you’ll have a hard time getting payouts if you need to file a claim. Some of the most common complaints about car insurance companies concern denials, low settlements, and delays in processing claims. These companies also tend to be among the most affordable in North Carolina for high-risk drivers, but you should always shop around to compare rates.
Average Driver Annual Premium
Average High-Risk Annual Premium
Complaint Ratio (NAIC)
Strength Rating (AM Best)
Pro Tip: Look for an insurer with at least an “A” grade for financial stability and a complaint score close to or below the national median of 1.
How much more high-risk drivers pay for auto insurance in North Carolina depends on why they are classified as high-risk. Your combination of risk factors determines how much more you’ll pay for high-risk auto insurance in North Carolina. Car insurance companies decide if you are a high-risk driver based heavily on driving factors like accidents, speeding tickets, reckless driving, racing, and DUI/DWI.
For example, North Carolina drivers with two accidents in their claims history see their rates jump by an average of 154%. If you’re convicted of a DUI, you’ll see an increase of about 112%. And if you’re caught going more than 20 MPH over the speed limit, expect your rates to go up by about 33%, on average.
Non-driving factors like your age, location, insurance history, credit score, and vehicle can also affect how much more high-risk auto insurance costs in North Carolina. If you get caught driving without insurance, the coverage lapse alone could raise your premium by about 31%. If you have no credit, you can expect to pay about 42% more than drivers with excellent scores.
In other words, your individual combination of risk factors determines how much more you specifically will pay for high-risk auto insurance in North Carolina.
Comparison shop. The best way to get affordable car insurance is to compare rates from at least three insurance companies. In North Carolina, the most expensive policies are around $1,241, and the least expensive cost about $620. That means drivers could save as much as $621 simply by comparing quotes. At a minimum, check rates three and five years after a traffic violation to get a lower rate when it falls off your record.
Avoid filing claims. Claims can dramatically increase your premium. In North Carolina, the average collision claim raised rates $794. Before filing a claim, calculate whether the cost of the damage exceeds your deductible plus future premium surcharges.
Have a practical car or go car-free. Some vehicles are more expensive to insure than others. Your car’s make, model, year, safety features, and price tag all impact how much you’ll pay. Consider a practical vehicle that’s more affordable to insure if you’re already high-risk. If the premium is still more than you can afford, you could switch to non-owner car insurance or go car-free for a while.
Drive safely. The easiest way to avoid traffic violations is to obey traffic laws and drive safely. You can’t undo the past, but you can make good choices now. Focus on keeping a clean driving record and consider a driver safety course to potentially lower your premiums right away.
If you’ve been denied coverage from traditional insurers, look into North Carolina’s assigned risk program. With assigned risk insurance, drivers who cannot get accepted normally are assigned to insurance companies that collectively pool together to take the risk of insuring them. It’s a last resort, and you’ll have to prove that you’ve tried and failed to get insurance multiple times to qualify.
In the end, the need for high-risk car insurance is a temporary situation. Serious violations like DUIs are on your record for 7 years in North Carolina, but most violations fall off your record within three to five years. No matter how long it takes, your high-risk status will eventually change with time if you can prove you’re a safe and responsible driver again.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.