A speeding ticket will stay on your record for five years or less in most states. Some states require a speeding ticket to stay on your driving record for longer, but most insurance companies will still only take the last 3-5 years into consideration when calculating your premium.
For example, a speeding ticket in Hawaii will stick with you for 10 years, and in Montana it will be on your record forever. But having an old speeding ticket on your record won’t hurt you long-term. Once it’s beyond your insurer’s lookback period, it won’t affect your premium anymore.
It’s important to remember that every insurance company has its own polices on how far back it looks on customers’ driving records, so be sure to check with your insurer to know exactly how long your speeding ticket will affect your premium. If you previously qualified for a good driver discount, you can also ask how long it will be before you can requalify. For example, American Family Insurance requires you to have a clean record for five years before you can receive the discount.
When you get your first speeding ticket, your driving record will take a hit and you might see your car insurance rates increase. A speeding ticket could also cost you extra money in fines and court fees, depending on how fast you were going and if you decide to fight the charge.… read full answer
Even though the financial impact of a speeding ticket can be frustrating, your driving record and insurance premium will eventually recover if you practice good habits on the road moving forward.
What Happens to Your Insurance When You Get Your First Speeding Ticket
Your costs could rise between 20% and 30% but the exact impact on your insurance premium will depend on your driving history and how fast you were going.
Any cost increases will come when it’s time to renew your policy, although your insurance company might be lenient if it’s a first offense and very low-level speeding.
You will no longer qualify for your insurer’s good driver discount if it’s based on moving violations.
Speeding tickets only stay on your driving record for three to five years, so if you practice safe driving moving forward, your costs will eventually go back down.
You can avoid higher premiums in some states by going to traffic school to have the ticket removed from your record.
How to Deal With Your First Speeding Ticket
The most important thing to remember after getting your first speeding ticket is that you shouldn’t ignore it. Ignoring a speeding ticket can lead to the state adding points to your license, increasing your fines, suspending your license, or even having you arrested.
When you get a speeding ticket, you have the choice to either pay the fine or fight the ticket in court. In some states, you can also choose to complete traffic school in order to reduce the fine or remove the ticket from your driving record altogether.
Although you’re not required to immediately tell your insurance company about a speeding ticket, they will eventually find out about it when they pull your driving record prior to renewing your policy. You should contact your insurer after you’ve received a ticket in order to find out how your costs might be affected.
The best way to avoid the burdens of a speeding ticket is to avoid getting one in the first place. Always be sure to plan ahead, pay attention to road signs and watch your speed to avoid being issued a citation that could wreck your insurance costs.
Most insurance companies check your driving record for the past three to five years, meaning if you had a violation outside this time period, it will not affect your insurance premiums. Some states regulate this “look-back” period, however, making it longer or shorter. For example, Massachusetts allows insurance companies to look back at 10 years of driving records. Virginia limits insurers to checking only three years of history.… read full answer
When you apply for, or renew, your auto insurance, the insurance company will evaluate your risk level — how likely you are to cost them money through claims. The best way to do this is by reviewing your driving record. Insurers look for accident reports and both major and minor driving violations.
Minor violations include speeding, failure to stop, improper turns, following too closely, etc. These raise your risk in the eyes of an insurance company because they show you don’t obey traffic laws designed to prevent crashes. In most states, minor traffic violations can be seen on your record for only three years.
Speeding (at least 20 mph over the limit), reckless driving, impaired driving, leaving the scene of an accident, and vehicular manslaughter are examples of major driving violations. They stay on your record longer. In Florida, for example, causing an accident while under the influence stays on your record for 75 years, basically your lifetime. Insurance companies count serious violations and at-fault accidents heavily in setting premiums.
Once the blemishes on your record are older than the look-back period, however, they are no longer a factor in setting your rates. For example, if your insurance company has a look-back period of five years, an accident you had in 2014 would stop affecting your rates in 2019. Your insurance rates should decrease at your next renewal as a result.
Progressive looks back at three years of your driving record while calculating premiums. So if you are getting a quote from Progressive and have a moving violation from four years ago, it will not affect your base rate. However, even after three years, an accident or DUI could disqualify you from certain savings, like a good driver discount.… read full answer
In California, for example, a DUI will remain on-record for 10 years, while in Florida it stays for 75 years. Similarly, an accident will stay on your Progressive record for five years, although it will only affect discounts, not your base premium, after three years.
Like with any insurance company, drivers with more violations on their record will be considered higher risk by Progressive and will pay a higher premium as a result. Similarly, Progressive will also take other factors into account when deciding on your rate, such as your location, your age, and your vehicle’s value.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.