You need an SR-22 in Colorado for 3 years. That means drivers must maintain at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by Colorado law for 3 years. If there is any lapse in coverage, the clock resets. Colorado mandates at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident), and at least $15,000 in property damage liability coverage.
When you get SR-22 insurance coverage in Colorado, your insurance company files your SR-22 certification with the state on your behalf. Failing to file an SR-22 can result in your vehicle registration or license being suspended, in addition to costly reinstatement fees. Your insurer also notifies the state if you cancel your policy or allow it to lapse prematurely. You’re even required to maintain an SR-22 if you move from Colorado, using an out-of-state filing.
If you’re unable to afford your payments, contact your insurance provider before you miss a due date. You can request a different payment plan or get information about subsidized plans that may be more affordable.
You need an SR-22 if a judge or your state department of motor vehicles has informed you that you do. An SR-22 form, also called a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, may be required if you are trying to reinstate or maintain your license after being convicted of certain driving violations. These include DUI/DWIs, reckless driving, driving without a license or insurance, or repeat offenses. You can only get an SR-22 form from your car insurance company. It confirms that you have an active policy with at least the minimum insurance coverage legally required in your state.… read full answer
In most cases, you’ll have to file an annual SR-22, certifying your insurance coverage, for 3 years. However, the time period can range from 2 to 5 years depending on the state and the reason for the SR-22. Also, depending on the state, this time period can start on your offense date, conviction date, license suspension date or reinstatement date. Make sure you know how long you have to maintain your SR-22. If you cancel your insurance before the time is up, your license or registration can be suspended or revoked.
Most states use the SR-22 form. Eight states don’t: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania. Two states—Florida and Virginia—use the SR-22 but have a different form for DUI/DWI convictions, the FR-44. If you move from one state to another, you will need to maintain your SR-22 certification with your original state through an out-of-state filing, even if your new state doesn’t require SR-22s.
SR-22 insurance covers the minimum protection required by state law. If the court or state tells you that you need SR-22 insurance certification, your minimum coverage requirements are still the same as for any other resident.
Many states only require liability insurance. In these states, SR-22 insurance covers the costs of the other driver’s injuries or property damage if you’re at fault in an accident. Some states, like Florida and Michigan, also require Personal Injury Protection, which pays medical expenses for you and your passengers. States such as New Jersey and New York mandate uninsured or underinsured motorist protection, as well. This kind of insurance pays for your losses if another driver is at fault and either has no/low liability insurance or is a hit-and-run driver.… read full answer
Like all insurance, SR-22 insurance policies are written with limits. These limits are the maximum amounts the insurance company will pay out for losses. The coverage limits for your SR-22 insurance policy will follow the requirements of the state in which you were convicted or now live, whichever are higher.
SR-22 is actually the name of the form the court or state requires from drivers convicted of certain violations, such as DUI/DWIs, reckless driving, and driving without a license or insurance. The SR-22 must be filled in by your insurance company and certifies that you have the legally required coverage.
Even though it’s minimal, SR-22 coverage can be expensive. The violation you committed will put you into the insurance company’s high-risk pool of drivers. This can raise your insurance costs 25% or more.
The cost of non-owner SR-22 insurance depends on where you live. But because non-owner SR-22 insurance policies apply only to drivers, and not their cars too, they generally cost less than regular SR-22 coverage.
What is non-owner SR-22 insurance?
An SR-22 isn't actually a type of insurance. Rather, it's a certificate proving that you have your state's minimum required car insurance coverage. A non-owner policy just happens to be the least expensive option that qualifies in most cases.… read full answer
A non-owner SR-22 is for drivers who:
Must file an SR-22 with the state due to high-risk infractions.
Don't own a car.
Don't have easy access to a car. (For example, if a roommate or family member in the same house owns a car, that would be easy access.)
Each state requires different levels of coverage, but most mandate some amount of liability protection. Liability insurance comes in two forms: bodily injury and property damage, which help pay for damage you cause to other people or their property when you're driving. At a minimum, you'll pay for liability insurance along with your non-owner SR-22 certificate.
The certificate costs between $15 and $50 (most companies charge $25). But if the state has suspended your license, you first need to pay to reinstate it. Then you need to buy an insurance policy so the insurance company can file your SR-22 certificate with the state.
Where to buy cheap non-owner SR-22 insurance online
Not all insurance companies offer non-owner car insurance, and even fewer offer it at a competitive price. So make sure to compare rates from numerous providers before buying insurance. The following companies are a good place to start:
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.