Drivers in Louisiana need to keep their SR-22 certification active with the state for 3 consecutive years. In order to do so, drivers must maintain at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by Louisiana law: bodily injury insurance of at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, plus $25,000 of coverage for property damage. You also need $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage. If there is any lapse in coverage, the clock resets.
When you get SR-22 insurance coverage in Louisiana, your insurance company files your SR-22 certification with the state on your behalf. Your insurer also notifies the state if you cancel your policy or allow it to lapse prematurely. You need to maintain your SR-22 even if you move from Louisiana.
If you’re unable to afford your payments, contact your insurance agency before you miss a bill. You can request a different payment plan or get information about subsidized plans that may be more affordable.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines
. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.