WalletHub, Financial Company
You need an SR-22 in Mississippi for three years. Drivers with an SR-22 in Mississippi must maintain at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by Mississippi law for three years, and if there is any lapse in coverage, the clock resets. Mississippi mandates at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident), and at least $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
When you get SR-22 insurance coverage in Mississippi, your insurance company files your SR-22 certification with the state on your behalf. Failing to file an SR-22 can result in your vehicle registration or license being suspended, in addition to costly reinstatement fees. Your insurer also notifies the state if you cancel your policy or allow it to lapse prematurely. You’re even required to maintain an SR-22 if you move from Mississippi, using an out-of-state filing.
If you’re unable to afford your payments, contact your insurance provider before you miss a due date. You can request a different payment plan or get information about subsidized plans that may be more affordable.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?