You need $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident) plus $25,000 in property damage liability insurance to drive legally in West Virginia. The West Virginia liability insurance requirements can also be written as 25/50/25. In addition, drivers in West Virginia will need to purchase $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 in property damage uninsured motorist coverage to satisfy the state’s minimum car insurance requirements.
Even though West Virginia only requires 25/50/25 in liability insurance, drivers should consider buying more coverage if they can afford it. If you cause an accident that results in damage beyond your policy limits, you will be personally responsible for paying the difference. And no matter what, you should be sure to fulfill the minimum West Virginia car insurance requirements to avoid facing consequences for driving without insurance.
Finally, drivers should also consider purchasing other types of car insurance in order to better protect themselves, given that liability insurance does not provide any coverage for the policyholder’s own injuries or property. For instance, collision insurance covers damage to the policyholder’s car regardless of fault. And comprehensive insurance pays if the policyholder’s vehicle is damaged by something besides an accident, like a natural disaster or vandalism.
You need enough liability insurance to cover your net worth. Having coverage equal to the value of the assets you own and all the money you have, minus your debt, protects you financially in case of a serious car accident.
When to Carry Only the Minimum Liability Coverage
Although almost every state requires drivers to carry liability insurance, the minimum coverage is not always enough to cover the cost of an accident. It’s always best to carry as much liability coverage as you can afford, especially if you have a high net worth. You can generally get away with a lower property damage liability limit if you want to save, however, since property damage liability claims are usually less expensive than bodily injury liability claims.… read full answer
If you don’t have many assets or think the risk is worth it, you might be comfortable with carrying only the minimum coverage. But no matter what, make sure you’re carrying enough insurance to comply with state law and avoid paying fines for driving uninsured.
Liability Limits on Auto Insurance
Liability limits on auto insurance are the maximum amount that your insurance company will pay for injuries and property damage in accidents that you cause. Liability limits are typically written as three numbers divided by slashes.
For example, Arizona’s liability coverage requirements are 50/30/10. That means drivers need to carry $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage overall.
Why You Need More Liability Insurance Than the State Minimum
Your insurance company will never pay for anything beyond the limits of your policy. Using the Arizona example, if you cause an accident that leads to $70,000 in medical bills for the other driver, you will have to pay for $40,000 if you are only carrying the minimum insurance required. And if you can’t afford to pay the full amount, the other driver can sue, and you can have your assets seized or wages garnished to cover the remainder.
Yes, uninsured motorist coverage is required in West Virginia. Drivers in West Virginia must purchase at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), as well as $25,000 in uninsured motorist property damage insurance per accident. Additionally, West Virginia drivers have the option to purchase $25,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident), as well as $25,000 in underinsured motorist property damage insurance per accident.… read full answer
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance covers a driver’s medical bills and repair costs after an accident if the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for the damage. Normally, a West Virginia driver can collect damages from the at-fault driver’s liability insurance. However, if the other driver is uninsured, getting compensation can be time-consuming or nearly impossible. That’s where uninsured motorist coverage can help. Instead of having to file a lawsuit, you can file a claim with your own insurance company in order to pay your bills and get the repairs or treatment you need without waiting for the courts.
Even though car insurance is required in West Virginia, an average of 10% of drivers in the state don’t have car insurance. Car accidents in West Virginia can be extremely expensive, too. For example, fatal accidents in West Virginia have a total cost of $417.3 million each year. As a result, uninsured motorist insurance is a smart investment for West Virginia drivers.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in West Virginia:
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person up to $50,000 per accident
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
No, personal injury protection (PIP) is not required in West Virginia. PIP is not even available in West Virginia. Instead of PIP insurance, West Virginia insurance companies offer medical payments insurance (sometimes called MedPay), which helps with hospital bills resulting from a car accident.
MedPay is similar to PIP insurance in that both handle your medical bills even if you cause a car accident. But MedPay covers less than personal injury protection, with no provisions for lost wages or assistance with home tasks that you can’t manage due to injury.… read full answer
Personal injury protection is a type of car insurance used in no-fault states, since it covers medical payments regardless of who caused an accident. West Virginia is an at-fault state, which means at least one driver is found to be “at fault” after a collision. Due in part to the differences in car insurance laws, the average cost of insurance in West Virginia – $1,420 – is average compared to most PIP states and other non-PIP states.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.