WalletHub, Financial Company
Idaho car insurance laws require $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, up to $50,000 per accident, as well as $15,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Bodily injury liability insurance pays for any injuries that you accidentally cause with your car, while property damage liability coverage helps pay for any material assets that you damage while driving, like another person’s car or mailbox. Your insurance company pays up to the limit specified by your policy for each type of car insurance coverage.
You can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without at least the minimum car insurance required in Idaho, including fines, community service, and license suspension. Another important Idaho car insurance law to note is the grace period for new residents. You have 90 days to register your car when you move to Idaho. You’ll need to bring proof of Idaho car insurance when you go to register, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
Minimum Coverage Required by Idaho Car Insurance Laws
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $15,000
People also ask
Did we answer your question?