WalletHub, Financial Company
Iowa car insurance laws require $20,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, up to $40,000 per accident, as well as $15,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Bodily injury liability insurance pays for any injuries that you accidentally cause with your car, while property damage liability coverage helps pay for any material assets that you damage while driving, like another person’s car or mailbox. Your insurance company pays up to the limit specified by your policy for each type of car insurance coverage.
You can face multiple penalties if you’re caught driving without at least the minimum car insurance required in Iowa, including fines and impounding your car. Another important Iowa car insurance law to note is the grace period for new residents. You have 30 days to register your car when you move to Iowa. You’ll need to bring proof of Iowa car insurance when you go to register, with coverage in each of the categories listed below.
Minimum Coverage Required by Iowa Car Insurance Laws
- Bodily injury liability: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $15,000
People also ask
Did we answer your question?