Delaney Simchuk, Car Insurance Writer
The minimum liability car insurance requirements in Connecticut are $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident) and $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. These requirements can also be written as 25/50/25.
Liability insurance pays for others' medical expenses and property damage after an accident you were responsible for. In addition, drivers in Connecticut will need to purchase $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident each in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to satisfy the state's minimum car insurance requirements.
Types of Car Insurance Required in Connecticut
- Bodily injury liability (BI)
- Property damage liability (PD)
- Uninsured motorist (UM)
- Underinsured motorist (UIM)
If Connecticut drivers do not purchase at least the minimum amounts of car insurance coverage required by Connecticut law, they can face penalties for driving without insurance.
Drivers should also consider purchasing other types of car insurance in order to better protect themselves, given that liability insurance does not provide any coverage for the policyholder's own injuries or property. For instance, both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance cover damage to the policyholder's car. You will likely need these types of insurance if your vehicle is financed.
To learn more, check out WalletHub's guides on how much car insurance you need and cheap car insurance in Connecticut.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?