The minimum liability car insurance requirements in New Hampshire are $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident) and $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. However, New Hampshire drivers may opt out of having car insurance if other requirements are met. If the driver is able to demonstrate that they are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements, they may opt out of carrying car insurance.
In addition, drivers in New Hampshire will need to purchase $1,000 in MedPay and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage equal to your liability limits to satisfy the state’s minimum car insurance requirements.
If New Hampshire drivers do not purchase at least the minimum required coverage or follow the correct protocol in order to opt out of carrying the minimum requirements, they can face consequences for driving without insurance.
Drivers should also consider purchasing other types of car insurance in order to better protect themselves, given that liability insurance does not provide any coverage for the policyholder’s own injuries or property. For instance, both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance cover damage to the policyholder’s car. You will likely also need these types of insurance if your vehicle is financed.
You need enough liability insurance to cover your net worth. Having coverage equal to the value of the assets you own and all the money you have, minus your debt, protects you financially in case of a serious car accident.
When to Carry Only the Minimum Liability Coverage
Although almost every state requires drivers to carry liability insurance, the minimum coverage is not always enough to cover the cost of an accident. It’s always best to carry as much liability coverage as you can afford, especially if you have a high net worth. You can generally get away with a lower property damage liability limit if you want to save, however, since property damage liability claims are usually less expensive than bodily injury liability claims.… read full answer
If you don’t have many assets or think the risk is worth it, you might be comfortable with carrying only the minimum coverage. But no matter what, make sure you’re carrying enough insurance to comply with state law and avoid paying fines for driving uninsured.
Liability Limits on Auto Insurance
Liability limits on auto insurance are the maximum amount that your insurance company will pay for injuries and property damage in accidents that you cause. Liability limits are typically written as three numbers divided by slashes.
For example, Arizona’s liability coverage requirements are 50/30/10. That means drivers need to carry $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage overall.
Why You Need More Liability Insurance Than the State Minimum
Your insurance company will never pay for anything beyond the limits of your policy. Using the Arizona example, if you cause an accident that leads to $70,000 in medical bills for the other driver, you will have to pay for $40,000 if you are only carrying the minimum insurance required. And if you can’t afford to pay the full amount, the other driver can sue, and you can have your assets seized or wages garnished to cover the remainder.
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in New Hampshire, as it is a rare state that allows most residents to drive without insurance. If a driver chooses to purchase car insurance, however, then they are required to have at least $25,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident). Drivers who purchase coverage must also have at least $25,000 in underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person (up to $50,000 per accident).… read full answer
Drivers in New Hampshire are also required to have insurance or otherwise prove financial responsibility if they’ve recently had an at-fault accident or been convicted of a serious moving violation, like DUI or vehicular assault. There are two ways for New Hampshire drivers to prove financial responsibility. The first is to purchase a car insurance policy that meets the state’s coverage requirements. Alternatively, drivers have the option to make a deposit with the state DMV that is equal in value to the minimum coverage limits, including the required amount of uninsured motorist insurance.
Why Uninsured Motorist Insurance Is Worthwhile in New Hampshire
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for a car accident if the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough insurance. Normally, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance pays for any property damage or injuries they caused. But if the other driver doesn’t have enough coverage, it can be time-consuming and difficult to sue them for funds to cover any bills. That’s where uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance can help save drivers time and money.
Because New Hampshire allows drivers to go uninsured, it’s estimated that 10% of drivers in the state don’t have car insurance. This gives you a 1 in 10 chance that the other driver won’t have insurance if you get into an accident. Car accidents in New Hampshire can be extremely expensive, too. For example, fatal accidents in New Hampshire cost a total of $202 million in 2018, the latest year with CDC data.
Key Facts About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in New Hampshire
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Per Person: $25,000
Minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Per Accident: $50,000
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Per Person: $25,000
Minimum Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Per Accident: $50,000
No, personal injury protection insurance (PIP) is not required in New Hampshire. New Hampshire drivers are not required to buy car insurance at all and if a driver does choose to buy insurance, New Hampshire policies have medical payments insurance (MedPay) instead of PIP.
MedPay is required with your New Hampshire policy. This coverage helps with injuries or rehab that you may deal with after a car accident, even if you cause the accident. In that way, it’s almost identical to PIP. But unlike PIP, MedPay doesn’t usually cover extra categories of assistance like lost wages or household services if you’re injured.… read full answer
No, drivers are not required to buy any insurance
Minimum coverage for medical expenses
$1,000 of MedPay
Annual cost of insurance
State accident laws
National cost ranking (1=cheapest)
New Hampshire’s unique car insurance laws affect the annual cost of car insurance for drivers. For comparison, Virginia pay about $1,074 for car insurance every year. Car insurance in Virginia is a little less than the national average because the state has relatively few requirements for people who choose to buy insurance. Insurance costs a little bit more in New Hampshire, if drivers choose to buy an insurance policy.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.