WalletHub, Financial Company
The minimum liability car insurance requirements in Oregon are $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($50,000 per accident) and $20,000 in property damage liability insurance. These requirements can also be written as 25/50/20. In addition, drivers in Oregon will need to purchase $15,000 in personal injury protection coverage, plus $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage to satisfy the stateвЂ™s minimum car insurance requirements.
Liability insurance pays for othersвЂ™ medical expenses and property damage after an accident you were responsible for.
Types of Car Insurance Required in Oregon
- Bodily injury liability (BI)
- Property damage liability (PD)
- Uninsured motorist (UM)
- Personal injury protection (PIP)
If Oregon drivers do not purchase at least the minimum amounts of car insurance coverage required by Oregon law, they can face penalties for driving without insurance.
In addition, drivers should also consider purchasing other types of car insurance in order to better protect themselves. For instance, both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance cover damage to the policyholderвЂ™s car. You will likely need these types of insurance if your vehicle is financed.
To learn more, check out WalletHubвЂ™s guides on how much car insurance you need and cheap car insurance in Oregon.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?