Winslow Arizona, Car Insurance Writer
The minimum SR-22 car insurance requirements in Florida are at least $10,000 in bodily injury liability insurance ($20,000 per accident), plus $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. Drivers also need at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP). Drivers in Florida will need to maintain the SR-22 coverage for 3 years. For context, an SR-22 is a form that the driver’s insurance company will file with the state to prove that the driver has enough coverage to drive legally.
Minimum SR-22 Insurance Requirements in Florida
- Personal injury protection: $10,000
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $10,000 per person / $20,000 per accident
Even though you can meet Florida’s SR-22 requirements with the minimum insurance required by law, you might want to opt for higher coverage limits. The more insurance you buy, the more protection you have for your finances and property.
Consider supplemental policy options such as collision or comprehensive coverage, too. Collision coverage pays for damage to your car from a crash, while comprehensive coverage handles any other damage to your car, such as from theft, vandalism, or inclement weather.
Just keep in mind that insurance is more expensive for drivers with an SR-22, since they are classified as high-risk.
People also ask
Did we answer your question?