You can get non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas by purchasing a non-owner car insurance policy and asking your insurer to file an SR-22 on your behalf. Non-owner SR-22 insurance allows drivers in Texas to fulfill their SR-22 requirement and maintain auto insurance coverage if they do not have regular access to a car. Most insurers will not sell you a non-owner policy if another member of your household has a car, even if it's not registered in your name.
To be clear, SR-22 is not actually a type of insurance. Instead, it's a form that an insurance company files with the state to prove that a driver has enough insurance to drive legally. Drivers are often required to file an SR-22 after a conviction for a serious offense such as DUI or if they have a history of moving violations.
When shopping for non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas, it's best to get quotes from multiple insurance companies in order to compare prices. Just like with any auto insurance policy, non-owner car insurance premiums will vary based on the provider as well as factors like the policyholder's age and driving history.
You need an SR-22 in Texas for 2 years, meaning you must also maintain at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by Texas law for 2 years. Failure to have an SR-22 for 2 years can result in additional penalties and reinstatement fees.
Texas SR-22 Insurance Requirements
$30,000 in bodily injury liability insurance per person ($60,000 per accident)
The cheapest non-owner insurance is from Geico, State Farm, and Farmers. Non-owner insurance is for people who don’t own a car but rent or borrow one frequently. Although non-owner car insurance is usually cheaper than a standard policy, the cost can still vary widely based on location, driving record, and other risk factors.
Non-owner policies fulfill the state’s mandatory minimum requirements for liability coverage, though some companies also allow drivers to purchase additional coverage. Drivers can...
Non-owner SR-22 insurance costs at least $15 - $25, due to the fee insurers charge for filing an SR-22 form with the DMV. Non-owner SR-22 insurance also costs roughly 3% more than a standard non-owner car insurance policy, on average, given the high-risk surcharge that insurers apply to the premiums of drivers who need an SR-22.
The exact cost of a non-owner SR-22 policy depends on where the driver lives and how much car insurance they’re...
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.