Connecticut driver’s license points work as part of a system that identifies and takes action against high-risk drivers by assigning a specific number of points for different types of traffic violations. In Connecticut, drivers accumulate 1 point for minor violations like speeding. For major violations, like negligent homicide with a motor vehicle, drivers will get five points.
Driver’s License Points Per Violation in Connecticut
Number of Points Assigned
Failure to give proper signal
Use of hand-held mobile telephone and mobile electronic devices
Wrong way on one-way street
Disobeying orders of officer
Failure to obey traffic control signals
Failure to keep to right
Passing on right or passing in no passing zone
Passing stopped school bus
Negligent homicide with a motor vehicle
Other Key Things to Know About Points in Connecticut
If you are convicted of a moving violation in another state, points for that violation will not be added to your driving record in Connecticut.
Driver’s license points in Connecticut expire after 24 months. However, until they expire, you may still see higher insurance premiums, especially for major violations like DUI’s and reckless driving. Knowing when your points expire will help you understand when you may see a drop in your premiums or when it may be a good time to shop for new insurance.
Points stay on your license for 24 months in Connecticut. After they expire, license points will no longer affect your driving privileges, so it’s worth keeping track of how much longer your points will last.
License points are designed to penalize drivers for unsafe behavior, and different moving violations will result in a different number of points in each state. For example, in Connecticut, a speeding ticket will result in one point.… read full answer
Accumulating too many points too quickly can lead to serious consequences like fines and license suspensions. Drivers might also be classified as a high-risk to insure or be required to file an SR-22. In Connecticut, 10 points in 24 months will result in a license suspension.
Driving license points are also important because insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents. Customers with more violations on their record will be charged a higher premium since they are considered more likely to file a claim.
You can get points off your license in Connecticut by waiting for them to expire. In Connecticut, points are removed from your record after 24 months, and you cannot do anything to remove points otherwise.
Even though you cannot remove points from your license in Connecticut, there are other ways you can try to lower your car insurance premiums. For instance, some insurance companies give discounts to policyholders who take an approved … read full answerdefensive driving course. You can also address other risk factors, such as by improving your auto insurance score.
You can check your driving record in Connecticut by going to the Department of Motor Vehicles website and requesting a copy of your driving record. It costs $20 to purchase a copy of your Connecticut driving record online, and you will need to provide your full name, driver's license number, date of birth, address, and Social Security number.… read full answer
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 16% in Connecticut. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred, because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub.
Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.