Florida driver’s license points work as part of a system that identifies and takes action against high-risk drivers by assigning a specific number of points for different types of traffic violations. In Florida, drivers accumulate three points for minor violations like speeding. For major violations, like leaving the scene of an accident, drivers will get six points.
Driver’s License Points Per Violation in Florida
Number of Points Assigned
Failure to use child restraints or seat-belt
Failure to obey traffic control device
Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian
Failure to obey traffic control signal
Failure to stop at red light at one-way street before making left turn
Passing on enter/exit side while bus is stopped
Leaving crash scene without giving information, for more than $50 damage
Other Key Things to Know About Points in Florida
If you are convicted of a moving violation in another state, points for that violation will be added to your driving record in Florida.
Driver’s license points in Florida expire after 5 years. However, until they expire, you may still see higher insurance premiums, especially for major violations like DUI’s and reckless driving. Knowing when your points expire will help you understand when you may see a drop in your premiums or when it may be a good time to shop for new insurance.
Points stay on your license indefinitely in Florida. The number of points added to your license in a 1-3 year period is what really matters in Florida, as accumulating more than 12-24 points in that timeframe will result in a suspended license.
Different point totals are assigned to drivers in Florida for different moving violations. For example, speeding will result in three points. Besides license suspensions, accumulating points too quickly can lead to consequences like fines, being classified as … read full answerhigh-risk, or being required to file an SR-22.
Driver’s license points also matter because insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents. Customers with more violations on their record will be charged a higher premium since they are statistically more likely to file a claim.
You can get points off your license in Florida by taking an approved driving course. Florida allows drivers who fit certain eligibility requirements to complete a driving course in order to remove the points from one violation. Drivers can remove points from one violation, avoid insurance premium increases, and possibly reduce their fines. Driving courses that reduce your license points might also be called traffic school or … read full answerdefensive driving classes.
Only applies to drivers without a commercial driver's license who receive a non-criminal moving violation
Drivers must voluntarily choose to attend a defensive driving course within 30 days of the citation date, and must inform the clerk of the court
Drivers must provide the course completion certificate to the Clerk of the Courts office in the county where the citation was received
Course can be completed only once within 12 months since your last violation (or 5 times in a lifetime)
Car insurance companies generally check your driving record to determine your risk as a customer. However, your premium has more to do with the violations on your record than the exact number of points on your license. As a result, you can keep your premium from increasing if you take a driving course that prevents a moving violation from going on your record.
Some insurers also give discounts for completing an approved defensive driving class even if it does not affect your license points or driving record. For more information, check out WalletHub’s guide to traffic school.
You can check your driving record in Florida by mailing a request form to the Florida Bureau of Records or visiting any Florida driver's license service center. Purchasing a copy of your driving record in Florida costs $8 ($10 for a certified 7-year copy), plus taxes and fees in some situations. You will need to provide your full name, address, date of birth, driver's license number, and phone number. In Florida, you cannot check your driving record online.… read full answer
Florida also allows residents to check their driving record for free.
How to Check Your Driving Record for Free in Florida
Go to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.
Provide your personal information.
Get your free driving record or pay the fee for your certified copy.
Why You Might Need a Florida Driving Record
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 29% in Florida. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.