Georgia driver’s license points work as part of a system that identifies and takes action against high-risk drivers by assigning a specific number of points for different types of traffic violations. In Georgia, drivers accumulate two points for minor violations like speeding 15-18 miles per hour over the limit. For major violations, like aggressive driving, drivers will get six points.
Driver’s License Points Per Violation in Georgia
Number of Points Assigned
Improper use of designated travel lane - 4th and subsequent offense
Operating a vehicle while texting
Usage of wireless telecommunication device
Violation of child safety restraint - 1st offense
Failure to adequately secure load, resulting in an accident
Possessing an open container of alcohol while driving
Speeding 15 to 18 mph over the speed limit
Failure to obey police officer
Failure to obey traffic-control device
Speeding 19 to 23 mph over the speed limit
Speeding 24 to 33 mph over the speed limit
Improper passing on hill or curve
Speeding 34 mph or more over the speed limit
Unlawful passing of a school bus
Violations That Do Not Result in Points in Georgia
Speeding convictions for less than 15 miles-per-hour over the posted speed limit
Convictions of driving too fast for road conditions, like during rain or snow
Violations committed by non-Georgia residents
Other Key Things to Know About Points in Georgia
If you are convicted of a moving violation in another state, points for that violation will not be added to your driving record in Georgia.
Driver’s license points in Georgia expire after 24 months. However, until they expire, you may still see higher insurance premiums, especially for major violations like DUI’s and reckless driving. Knowing when your points expire will help you understand when you may see a drop in your premiums or when it may be a good time to shop for new insurance.
Points stay on your license for 24 months in Georgia. After they expire, license points will no longer affect your driving privileges, so it’s worth keeping track of how much longer your points will last.
License points are designed to penalize drivers for unsafe behavior, and different moving violations will result in a different number of points in each state. For example, in Georgia, speeding 15-18 miles per hour over the limit will result in two points.… read full answer
Accumulating too many points too quickly can lead to serious consequences like fines and license suspensions. Drivers might also be classified as a high-risk to insure or be required to file an SR-22. In Georgia, 15 points in 24 months will result in a license suspension.
Driving license points are also important because insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents. Customers with more violations on their record will be charged a higher premium since they are considered more likely to file a claim.
You can get points off your license in Georgia by taking an approved driving course. Georgia allows drivers who fit certain eligibility requirements to complete a driving course in order to remove seven points. Driving courses that reduce your license points might also be called traffic school or defensive driving classes… read full answer.
Drivers must bring the original certificate of completion to a DDS Customer Service Center
Course can only be completed once every 5 years
Car insurance companies generally check your driving record to determine your risk as a customer. However, your premium has more to do with the violations on your record than the exact number of points on your license. As a result, you can keep your premium from increasing if you take a driving course that prevents a moving violation from going on your record.
Some insurers also give discounts for completing an approved defensive driving class even if it does not affect your license points or driving record. For more information, check out WalletHub’s guide to traffic school.
You can check your driving record in Georgia by going to the Department of Driver Services website and requesting a copy of your driving record. It costs $6 ($8 for a seven year copy) to purchase a copy of your Georgia driving record online, and you will need to create an online account.… read full answer
Georgia also allows residents to check their driving record for free.
How to Check Your Driving Record in Georgia
Go to the Department of Driver Services website.
Provide your personal information.
Get your free driving record or pay the fee for your certified copy.
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 25% in Georgia. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred, because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.