Minnesota does not use driver’s license points, but drivers may still have their license suspended for things like a DUI or driving without insurance. Moving violations will still be reported on your driving record in Minnesota. Depending on the offense, you could face fines, license suspension, or even jail time. Additionally, your insurer will see your driving record and may increase your premiums due to the violations.
Violations That Can Lead to a Suspended License in Minnesota
Possessing a fake or altered license
Driving without insurance
Being convicted of underage drinking and driving
Failing to stop for a school bus with stop arm extended and red lights flashing
Failing to report a medical condition that would result in cancellation of driving privileges
Committing a traffic offense in another state that would be grounds for suspension in Minnesota
Being convicted for a violation causing a traffic accident resulting in death, injury or property damage
Fortunately, moving violations won’t affect you forever. Violations will only affect your insurance rates for 10 years in Minnesota. However, it is still important to know what is on your record so you can better understand how your driving history may be impacting your insurance premiums.
Minnesota does not use a license-points system to track driving offenses. In other words, you don’t have to worry about how long points will stay on your license in Minnesota because they won’t be added in the first place.
Even though Minnesota does not use license points, drivers can still face consequences if they commit serious or repeated moving violations. For example, drivers in Minnesota can have their license suspended if they are charged with four moving violations in one year or a serious offense like a DUI or driving without insurance. A policyholder’s driving history will also affect their insurance premiums in Minnesota, since insurance companies check driving records to determine how much risk a driver presents.… read full answer
You can’t get points off your license in Minnesota, since Minnesota does not use a driver’s license points system. You can still have your Minnesota license suspended if you are convicted of four traffic offenses within a year or a serious offense like DUI or driving without insurance, among other offenses, but Minnesota does not track violations using points.… read full answer
For more information about Minnesota’s system and to find out how to check your driving record, read WalletHub’s complete guide to driver’s license checks.
You can check your driving record in Minnesota by mailing a request form or visiting a Driver and Vehicle Services. Purchasing a copy of your driving record in Minnesota costs $9 for an uncertified record or $10 for a certified record, and you will need to provide your full name, driver's license number and date of birth. In Minnesota, you cannot check your driving record online.… read full answer
Some states like Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, and Ohio allow residents to check their driving record for free.
How to Check Your Driving Record in Minnesota
Go to the Department of Public Safety website.
Provide your personal information.
Pay any applicable fees.
Driving records are important for insurance purposes because car insurance companies charge higher premiums for customers with a history of violations or accidents. For instance, a single speeding ticket increases premiums by an average of 28% in Minnesota. Checking your driving record can help you verify that the information is correct.
It’s also a good idea to see when a violation occurred, because insurance companies generally look at the past three to five years of your driving record. Once insurance companies stop taking the violation into account, you should compare quotes again to be sure you’re still getting the best rate on the coverage you need.
WalletHub Answers is a free service that helps consumers access financial information. Information on WalletHub Answers is provided “as is” and should not be considered financial, legal or investment advice. WalletHub is not a financial advisor, law firm, “lawyer referral service,” or a substitute for a financial advisor, attorney, or law firm. You may want to hire a professional before making any decision. WalletHub does not endorse any particular contributors and cannot guarantee the quality or reliability of any information posted. The helpfulness of a financial advisor's answer is not indicative of future advisor performance.
WalletHub members have a wealth of knowledge to share, and we encourage everyone to do so while respecting our content guidelines. This question was posted by WalletHub. Please keep in mind that editorial and user-generated content on this page is not reviewed or otherwise endorsed by any financial institution. In addition, it is not a financial institution’s responsibility to ensure all posts and questions are answered.
Ad Disclosure: Certain offers that appear on this site originate from paying advertisers, and this will be noted on an offer’s details page using the designation "Sponsored", where applicable. Advertising may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). At WalletHub we try to present a wide array of offers, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products.